Honors and awards

April 2014

Meta!Blast video honored in NSF visualization contest

Meta!Blast, a real-time 3D computer game that engages undergraduate students in fundamental concepts of biology, earned the People's Choice Award in the 2013 International Science and Engineering Visualization Challenge. The game is directed by Eve Syrkin Wurtele, professor of genetics, development and cell biology, and a multidisciplinary team. Committee members from the National Science Foundation and Science magazine, the sponsors of the competition, screened 227 entries from 12 countries.

Yeakel wins award

Greg Yeakel, chief pharmacist at Thielen Student Health Center, was recently named the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS) 2014 Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience (IPPE) Preceptor of the Year.

Caldwell honored for service in art education

Barbara Caldwell, associate professor of integrated studio arts and art education, received the 2014 Ziegfeld Service Award from the United States Society for Education through Art (USSEA). The award recognizes one professional art educator annually for outstanding and internationally recognized contributions to art education through exceptional achievement in scholarly writing, research, or professional or community service.

Godbey receives NEH grant

Emily Godbey, associate professor of art history, has received a National Endowment for the Humanities grant to attend an NEH Institute for College and University Teachers this coming summer. Godbey is one of 25 college faculty members, graduate students and scholars of western U.S. history who will take part in the summer institute to study aspects of the federal government’s influence in this history.

Team wins Interior Design Educators Council award

The team of Lori Stone, associate professor of interior design; Lee Cagley, professor and chair of interior design; Alison Reich, academic adviser in the College of Design; Nora Ladjahasan, associate scientist with the Institute for Design Research and Outreach; and Abigail Lundquist, senior in psychology, won Best Presentation Scholarship of Design Research at the Interior Design Educators Council 2014 Annual Conference in New Orleans. They won the award for their paper on "Predicting Success of Interior Design Alumni as an Assessment of the Curriculum: Post-graduation Years 1-10."

Ebbers receives national leadership award

Larry Ebbers, University Professor in the School of Education, will receive the Leadership Award from the American Association of Community Colleges on April 5 at the group's annual convention. The national award recognizes individuals for outstanding accomplishments and professional contributions to the community college field. Ebbers established the Leadership Institute for a New Century in 1989 to develop leadership skills and opportunities in community colleges for women and minorities, as well as the Community College Leadership Initiative Consortium, a management program for community college administrators.

Sturm receives Global Music Award

Jonathan Sturm, professor of music, has received a silver medal for Outstanding Achievement in the Instrumental Performance Solo Category and a bronze medal in the music video category of the 2014 Global Music Awards competition for his recent 2-CD plus DVD release Fire and Romance.

Global Music Awards  is an international music competition that brings attention to artists who traditionally are underrepresented by mass media and big box retailers.