Honors and awards

December 2016

Freihoefer receives public service award

Brad Freihoefer, director of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Student Services Center, received a 2016-17 public service award from ACPA-College Student Educators International (formerly the American College Personnel Association). The award recognizes significant contributions to higher education and to institutions through support of, and efforts in, LGBTQ awareness. 

Mallapragada and Halbur named to National Academy of Inventors

Pat Halbur, professor and chair of veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine, and Surya Mallapragada, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor and the Carol Vohs Johnson Chair in Chemical and Biological Engineering, have been named to the National Academy of Inventors

Halbur also serves as executive director of the ISU Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. Mallapragada also has appointments with materials science and engineering and the Ames Laboratory.

Margrett named association fellow

Jennifer Margrett, associate professor in human development and family studies and director of the interdepartmental gerontology program, has earned fellow status in the American Psychological Association for her outstanding contributions to the field of pyschology.

Spikes named center fellow

School of Education assistant professor Daniel Spikes was named one of 13 equity fellows with the new Midwest and Plains Equity Assistance Center, Indianapolis. Equity fellows are state-specific and nationally prominent scholars who have published widely on one or more of the four desegregation areas (race, sex, religion, national origin).