Honors and awards

January 2017

Iver Anderson named to inventors' hall of fame

Iver Anderson, adjunct professor of materials science and engineering and senior metallurgist in Ames Laboratory's division of materials science and engineering, has been named a 2017 inductee to the National Inventors Hall of Fame, a partnership with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Anderson was recognized for his leadfree solder used widely in electronic devices. The 45th class will be honored during a May ceremony.

Kamal receives IEEE award

Ahmed Kamal, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received an award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Communications Society's Optical Networking Technical Committee for his contributions to optical networks. The committee recognized Kamal's contributions in the area of traffic grooming and multipoint communication in optical networks.

Freihoefer wins public service award

Brad Freihoefer, director of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender student services center, was presented with the 2016-17 Public Service Award from the American College Personnel Association's Coalition for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Awareness. The award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to higher education and to institutions through support of and efforts in LGBTQ awareness.

Diesslin elected to board term

Bill Diesslin, associate director of the environmental health and safety department and a certified hazardous materials manager (CHMM), has been elected to the board of directors of the Maryland-based Institute of Hazardous Materials Management. His four-year term began Jan. 1. The institute is the international accrediting group for haz mat disposal professionals.