Honors and awards

October 2021

Dan Grooms receives Distinguished Alumni award

Dr. Dan Grooms, the Dr. Stephen G. Juelsgaard Dean of Veterinary Medicine, was one of six individuals honored this fall as a Distinguished Alumnus by The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Grooms earned both his DVM and PhD from Ohio State, and began his career in general practice in rural Ohio. 

Nicole Hanson receives education award

Nicole Hanson, Iowa 4-H Clover Kids specialist, has received the 2021 Influencer award from the Iowa Association for the Education of Young Children. She was recognized for her support and advocacy to improve the quality of care and education for young children.

Day named president of faculty athletics representatives association

University Professor of molecular pharmacology Tim Day has been elected to a one-year term as president of the Faculty Athletics Representatives Association. Day has served as ISU's representative to the NCAA and Big 12 Conference since 2010.

Boury receives national microbiology teaching award

Nancy Boury, assistant professor in plant pathology and microbiology, received the 2022 Carski Award for Undergraduate Education from the American Society for Microbiology. The award is part of the society's annual program to recognize leading scientists for their professional accomplishments and significant contributions to education in microbiology. Recipients are nominated by their peers, and submissions require supporting statements from two additional colleagues at different institutions.