Honors and awards

March 2012

Harmon elected to ASABE board of trustees

Jay Harmon, professor and extension livestock housing specialist in the department of agricultural and biosystems engineering, was recently elected to a two-year term on the board of trustees for the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. The board ensures that ASABE fulfills its mission of facilitating the exchange of technical information and promoting the science and art of engineering in agricultural, food and biological systems.

DeLisi named Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences fellow

Matt DeLisi, coordinator of criminal justice studies and a professor of sociology, was named a fellow of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS).  Also a faculty affiliate in Iowa State's Center for the Study of Violence, DeLisi was recognized at ACJS's annual conference on March 16 in New York City, N.Y.

Wendel winner of International Cotton Genomics Initiative

Jonathan Wendel, ISU ecology, evolution & organismal biology, has been named winner of the International Cotton Genomics Initiative award for outstanding contributions to cotton genomics.

Marshall elected communications chair for AERA social justice group

Joanne Marshall, an assistant professor of educational leadership and policy studies, was elected communications chair for the American Educational Research Association Leadership for Social Justice Special Interest Group. This is a national/international-level elected position within the organization.