Honors and awards

April 2024

Francis, Woteki honored for work

Food science and human nutrition professor Sarah Francis won the Excellence in Nutrition Education Award from the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and its foundation. Food science and human nutrition professor Catherine Woteki was named the ASN volunteer of the year. Woteki is the chair of the ASN Foundation Board of Trustees. The awards recognize outstanding contributions and pioneering advancements in the field of nutrition, and are a testament to excellence and innovation.

Freestone receives service award

Sarah Freestone, senior assistant director in the office of student financial aid, received the Meritorious Service Award from the Iowa Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators. The award recognizes a significant contribution to the association or the financial aid profession. Selection is based on leadership; work on an important project or significant service to students, the association or the profession.

Shimkat recognized for rural Iowa leadership

Lisa Shimkat, director of the Iowa Small Business Development Center, received the Rand Fisher Rural Leadership Award, sponsored by the IADG Community Foundation, during this month's 8th annual Iowa Rural Summit. The award recognizes individuals in rural economic and community development, philanthropy, the arts and utilities. Shimkat was was cited for her role directing the 15 SBDC locations across the state that provide business counseling for entrepreneurs in all areas of starting, operating and expanding a business, and for her service on several state and national development boards.