Honors and awards

August 2021

Mathematics program receives STEM award

Bridge the Gap, a post-baccalaureate program in the mathematics department, was selected as one of INSIGHT Into Diversity Magazine's 2021 Inspiring Programs in STEM. The program was recognized for its impact on opportunities available to underserved students in STEM. Bridge the Gap is a one-year program that helps undergraduate degree holders smoothly transition to the rigors of graduate-level mathematics education.

Wulf named to wall of fame

Dennis Wulf, assistant professor of practice in the School of Eduction, is an inaugural inductee to the Norwalk Community School District Wall of Fame, which recognizes the accomplishments of Norwalk graduates and staff. Before joining the Iowa State faculty, Wulf worked in the Norwalk school district for 37 years, from science teacher to principal, activities director to superintendent.

Foreman receives assocation president's award

Interim vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion Margo Foreman received a 2021 President's Award from the American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity.  The award recognizes a member's hard work and outstanding contributions to the association.

VanDerZanden receives distinguished leadership award

Ann Marie VanDerZanden, associate provost for academic programs, received the 2021 Murray Brown Leadership Award from NACTA (North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture) at the group's 27th annual meeting in June. The award recognizes a current or emeritus member of the organization with a distinguished and sustained record of NACTA leadership. VanDerZanden's service includes a term as NACTA president (2018-19).

Pollard to lead national AD association

Cyclone athletics director Jamie Pollard has been named president of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics for the 2021-22 academic year. The association named Pollard its Athletics Director of the Year in 2019.