Honors and awards

September 2017

Haynes receives educator award

Cindy Haynes, associate professor in horticulture, received the outstanding undergraduate educator award from the American Society for Horticulture Science. Haynes has taught 15 different courses -- from introductory to capstone -- reaching more than 3,500 students while at Iowa State. Nearly every course she teaches has an active learning, experiential learning, cooperative learning, and/or service learning component.

Misra receives global leadership award

Manjit Misra, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering and director of the Seed Science Center, received the Global Agriculture Academic Leadership Award from the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture. The academic leadership award is one in a series the council presents to recognize individuals and institutions that positively impact the lives of millions of rural smallholder farmers around the world.

Mallapragada named international academy fellow

Surya Mallapragada, an Anson Marston Distinguished Professor and Carol Vohs Johnson Chair of the chemical and biological engineering department, was named a fellow in the Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering. The academy is composed of scientists around the world who are recognized for contributions to and leadership in medical and biological engineering. Mallapragada also serves as associate vice president for research and is a scientist in the Ames Laboratory.

Hargrave inducted into Iowa African American Hall of Fame

Connie Hargrave, associate professor in the School of Education, was inducted into the Iowa African American Hall of Fame, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of African Americans who enhance the quality of life for all Iowans.