Honors and awards

August 2017

Faidley receives outstanding advisor award

LeVern Faidley, chief advisor for Iowa State University’s Iowa Alpha chapter of Tau Beta Pi (TBP), has been named the national 2017 TBP Outstanding Advisor. Faidley is being honored because he “exemplifies going above the call of duty and is always an enthusiastic supporter of students and TBP alumni.”

Vleck awarded for lifetime achievement

Carol Vleck, professor emeritus in EEOB, received the Loye and Alden Miller Award for lifetime achievement in ornithological research at the American Ornithology Society annual meeting.

Constant elected a society fellow

Kristen Constant, Morrill Professor and chair of the department of materials science and engineering, has been elected a 2017 fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education in recognition of "outstanding contributions to engineering or engineering technology education." Fellows are elected by the society's board of directors.