Honors and awards

April 2013

Spring 2013 CYtation Award winners

The following professional and scientific staff members are recipients of the 2013 spring CYtation Awards, which recognizes individuals who perform above and beyond the call of duty, do something extraordinarily well, or act in such a way as to make a very real difference in the institution:

  • Kelly Gillette, health physicist, environmental health and safety
  • Julienne Krennrich, assistant director, Engineering Research Institute
  • Brenda Kutz, academic adviser, chemical and biological engineering
  • Keith Kutz, administrative specialist, Iowa Energy Center
  • Tera Lawson, program coordinator, School of Education
  • David Meisinger, director, U.S. Pork Center of Excellence
  • Diane Rupp, associate registrar, records and registration
  • Sharon Wirth, teaching laboratory coordinator, apparel, events and hospitality management

Team awards went to the e-Data Financial Report Leadership Team (chaired by Alicia Duncan) and the Military Student Task Force (chaired by Michelle Hendricks). Winners of the 2013 spring and fall awards will be recognized during a ceremony next spring.

State Gym receives Outstanding Sports Facilities

The Iowa State University State Gym Expansion was recently selected by the National Intramural Recreation Sports Association (NIRSA) as one of only thirteen national winners for the Outstanding Sports Facilities. This annual awards program recognizes architects, consultants, and facility owners and managers for their efforts planning, financing, designing and operating indoor recreation and wellness facilities that set high standards for design and functionality.

Adeleke receives Fulbright award

Tunde Adeleke, ISU African and African American Studies, has received a 2013-2014 Fulbright Senior Scholar award.

Adeleke is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad next year through the Fulbright Scholar Program to fulfill the program’s mission to build mutual understanding between people of the United States and the world.

Duffy to receive Distinguished Service Award

Mike Duffy, professor of economics, will receive the Distinguished Service Award this summer from the American Agricultural Editors Association. Duffy has coordinated the Iowa State land value survey for 27 years, conducts the Iowa Land Ownership survey and directed Iowa State's Beginning Farmer Center from 1994 through 2012.

Misra appointed chair of USDA Advisory Council

Manjit Misra, Iowa State University professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering and director of the Seed Science Center, has been named chairman of the National Genetic Resources Advisory Council.

Faculty, staff recognized for commitment to learning communities

ISU's learning communities program recently recognized 10 faculty and staff who supervise peer mentors in this year's program. Fifteen students also were named exemplary peer mentors for their efforts to be positive models for their  learning community members and support the university's academic goals.

Stalder receives national service award

Animal science professor and Extension swine specialist Ken Stalder is the 2012 recipient of the National Swine Improvement Federation's Charles Stanislaw Memorial Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes individuals for service to the pork industry through involvement in implementing, supervising and/or participating in performance testing programs.