Honors and awards

March 2013

Harms elected to association board

Cory Harms, ISU associate director of purchasing, was elected to the board of directors of the National Association of Educational Procurement, effective April 10. Harms will serve as senior vice president, a one-year position that ascends to board president. The association, with more than 4,000 professionals from 1,500 education institutions, is dedicated to professional development, community development and collaborative development.

Coberley receives athletic trainer award

Mark Coberley, ISU Director for Athletic Training, will receive the Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer award (MDAT), by the National Athletic Trainers' Association. The MDAT award recognizes NATA members who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to leadership, volunteer service, advocacy and distinguished professional activities as an athletic trainer.

Wang named Viskanta Fellow for innovative research

Xinwei Wang, ISU mechanical engineering, received the inaugural Viskanta Fellowship honor from Purdue University for his advanced research in the field of thermal science.

Whitehead receives creative achievement award

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture awarded a top honor to Rob Whitehead, ISU architecture. The award recognizes a specific creative achievement in teaching, design, scholarship, research or service that advances architectural education.

Cho wins dissertation award

Byeong-Young Cho, ISU education, is the winner of the 2013 International Reading Association (IRA) Outstanding Dissertation Award, one of the most prestigious awards given to young education scholars. Cho’s research examines how high school students find, understand and evaluate different kinds of texts on the Internet.

Jacobson wins IEEE award for education innovation

Doug Jacobson, University Professor of electrical and computer engineering and IEEE fellow, was presented with a 2012 Major Educational Innovation Award from the IEEE Educational Activities Board. The award recognized Jacobson’s career in instruction and educational outreach, citing him for “creating innovative materials that support the teaching of information technology and information assurance to students of all ages."

MFA faculty earn literary awards

English professor Debra Marquart was among the winners, and was presented the David B. Saunders Award for Nonfiction from Cream City Review for her essay, “Ephemera.” Associate professor David Zimmerman received the 2013 Alex Award from the American Library Association for his recent novel, Caring is Creepy; and adjunct lecturer Christiana Langenberg received an honorable mention in the Gulf Cost Nonfiction Award for her essay, “Foiled.” MFA students Andrew Payton, Nate Pillman, Lindsay Tigue and Geetha Iyer also earned awards.