Honors and awards

January 2013

Seeger receives national planning award

Christopher J. Seeger, associate professor of landscape architecture and extension specialist, will receive a 2013 National Planning Achievement Award for Transportation Planning from the American Planning Association. Seeger won for his development of geospatial planning tools and processes that help communities identify and collect information to create a Safe Routes to School program, an initiative of the U.S. Department of Transportation. APA is giving 12 awards for exemplary planning, including two in the area of transportation planning. 

Martin and Muench win top awards in national juried art exhibition

Two Iowa State University associate professors of integrated studio arts have won Juror's Awards at the 34th Annual Mesa Contemporary Crafts exhibition.

Works by Joe Muench and Chris Martin were selected for awards by the sole juror, Jennifer Scanlan, who is associate curator of the Museum of Arts and Design, New York City.

Wang receives research excellence award

Tong (Toni) Wang, professor of food science and human nutrition, has received the 2013 Timothy L. Mounts Award from the American Oil Chemists Society. The award recognizes excellence in research related to the science and technology of edible oils.

Madden honored by Ames CVB

Vice president for business and finance Warren Madden was recognized by the Ames Convention and Visitors Bureau this month for making a difference in the Ames community. Madden specifically was honored for his efforts in developing a strong town and gown relationship between the city and university communities.

Rodermel named to American Society for Plant Biology committee

Steve Rodermel, professor in the genetics, development and cell biology department, has been appointed to a five-year term on the publications committee of the American Society for Plant Biology. ASPB, the world’s largest organization of plant scientists, oversees The Plant Cell and Plant Physiology, two of the dominant journals in plant biology. Rodermel said the publications committee will be selecting a new editor-in-chief of The Plant Cell this year, and is considering a new journal to complement The Plant Cell and Plant Physiology.

Hadimani awarded International Young Scientist Fellowship

Ravi Hadimani, Postdoctoral Researcher, ISU ECpE, was awarded the International Young Scientist Fellowship by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC). Hadimani will receive funding to travel to China and conduct research at the State Key Laboratory of Electronic Thin Films and Integrated Devices, and the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China.

Sanders receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Wallace Sanders, ISU Professor Emeritus in civil, construction and environmental engineering, recieved the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) Lifetime Achievement Award. AISC Awards honor significant projects and individuals who have contributed to the success of the fabricated structural steel industry.

2012 CYtation Award winners announced

The following professional and scientific staff members are recipients of the 2012 CYtation Award, which recognizes individuals who perform above and beyond the call of duty, do something extraordinarily well, or act in such a way as to make a very real difference in the institution: Cynthia Baas, project planning specialist in facilities planning and management; James Dorsett, director of the international students and scholars office; Garry Greenlee, associate director of recreation services; Kelvin Leibold, field specialist for ISU Extension and Outreach; Katie Lickteig, alumni officer in the Alumni Association; Janet McMahon, administrative specialist in the ecology, evolution and organismal biology department; Diane Meyer, program coordinator in the engineering research institute; George Micalone, program coordinator at the Memorial Union; Laura Miller, communications specialist in the Leopold Center; Michael Miller, IT manager in the College of Design; Kathleen Timmons, academic adviser in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Scott White, associate director or recreation services.The inaugural team award went to the Smithsonian Folklife Festival project team, chaired by Luis Rico-Gutierrez, dean of the College of Design.