Search begins for next vice president for research

Iowa State has launched the search for its next vice president for research (VPR).

The successful candidate will succeed Sarah Nusser, who recently announced that she would complete her service as VPR at the end of the fiscal year.

"Iowa State is one of America's leading research universities, so we expect the position will be very attractive to candidates both on campus and around the world," said senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert. "We expect to recruit a leader who will continue to grow the university's research programs and sustain the momentum created by Sarah and her team during the last five years."

Dan Grooms, the Dr. Stephen G. Juelsgaard Dean of Veterinary Medicine, and Shauna Hallmark, professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering and director of the Institute for Transportation, will co-chair the search committee. They are joined by:

  • James Andrews, University Professor, history; and director emeritus, Center for Excellence in the Arts and Humanities
  • Curtis Brundy, director, collections and technical services, University Library
  • Alicia Carriquiry, Distinguished Professor, statistics; and director, Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Evidence
  • Patricia Daugherty, professor, supply chain management
  • Panteleimon Ekkekakis, professor, kinesiology
  • Caroline Hayes, chair, mechanical engineering
  • Chad Higgins, senior director, ISU Extension and Outreach
  • Kristine Johansen, program manager, economic development and industry relations
  • Sarah Kaatz, director, office for responsible research
  • Jennifer Margrett, interim associate dean, College of Human Sciences
  • Jamie Morris, chief research officer, U.S. Department of Energy Ames Laboratory
  • John Odenweller, program coordinator, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Paul Plummer, associate professor, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine; and director, National Institute of Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Education
  • Max Rothschild, Distinguished Professor, animal science
  • Julie Stevens, associate professor, landscape architecture
  • Martin Thuo, assistant professor, materials science and engineering

The committee will define a search timeline when it meets for the first time. The process will begin with the nomination of candidates and a review of applications, followed by interviews with semifinalists and then finalists. The university will hire a search firm to assist the committee throughout the process.