Honors and awards

May 2023

Learning community advocates recognized

The Learning Community Advisory Committee presented awards to 12 faculty and staff members May 15 for their exemplary involvement in the past year with the university's learning communities. The awards include: Advocate Award, Champion Award, Equity Award, Faculty Engagement Award, Outstanding Innovations Award and Early Achievement in Learning Community Coordination. 

Mallapragada named to DOE advisory committee

Surya Mallapragada, associate vice president for research, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor and Carol Vohs Johnson Chair of Chemical and Biological Engineering, was appointed to serve on the U.S. Department of Energy's Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee. The committee advises DOE leaders on the national basic energy sciences program, focusing particularly on the fields of condensed matter and materials physics. She was sworn in last month for a term that runs through December 2025.