Honors and awards

June 2019

Doyle receives 'emerging faculty' award

Shelby Doyle, assistant professor of architecture, received the Emerging Faculty Award from the Building Technology Educators' Society. The award recognizes building technology educators who display excellence and innovation in their teaching performance, methods and subject matter early in their careers, inspiring student engagement in building technology and its impact on design.

Anand receives Cottrell Scholar Award

Robbyn Anand, assistant professor of chemistry, received a 2019 Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement. The Cottrell Scholar program develops outstanding teacher-scholars who are recognized by their scientific communities for the quality and innovation of their research programs and their academic leadership skills.

Tuteja selected a Pew Scholar

Geetu Tuteja, assistant professor in the genetics, development and cell biology department, has been selected to join the Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences. She receives a four-year, $300,000 grant to conduct biomedical research aimed at advancing human health. Tuteja is the first Iowa State researcher to receive this honor.

VanVeller receives NSF early career award

Brett VanVeller, assistant professor of chemistry, received a 2019 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award from the National Science Foundation. The award honors faculty members who serve as exemplary teacher-scholars. He will use part of the $640,000 award over five years to develop, build and distribute a series of interactive science kits for elementary and middle school students.