Honors and awards

August 2019

Martin receives distinguished leadership award

Phil Martin, professor and former chair of kinesiology (2008-19), was named a 2019-20 American Kinesiology Association's Jerry R. Thomas Distinguished Leadership Award recipient. The award recognizes outstanding administrative and leadership performance of an individual in an administrative unit at an AKA member institution that helps contribute to the attainment of the unit’s strategic goals.

Kanwar and Harmon honored by ABE society

Agricultural and biosystems engineering faculty members Ramesh Kanwar and Jay Harmon were honored with awards at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers annual international meeting. Kanwar, a Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor, received the Kishida International Award, given for work that results in improved food production, living conditions and/or education for people living outside the U.S. Harmon, who also serves as interim associate dean for extension and outreach, received the PEI Professional Engineer of the Year Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the engineering profession, public welfare and/or humankind.

Young named fellow in new leadership academy

Michael Young, associate pofessor of mathematics, was named a fellow in the inaugural cohort of the IAspire Leadership Academy, a leadership program aimed at helping STEM faculty from underrepresented backgrounds ascend to leadership roles at colleges and universities. The program, part of the Aspire Alliance's Institutional Change Initiative, addresses the national need to broaden diversity and increase inclusion in STEM fields and higher education leadership. The Aspire Alliance, backed by the National Science Foundation, is working across post-secondary institutions to develop more inclusive institutional cultures supporting the access and success of all undergraduate STEM students.

DeLisi named association fellow

Matthew DeLisi, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean’s Professor and professor of sociology, has been named a fellow in the Association for Psychological Science (APS), a 33,000-member international organization dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders. Fellow status is awarded to APS members who have significantly contributed to the science of psychology in the areas of research, teaching, service and/or application. While DeLisi’s academic home is the sociology department, his research on serious, violent and pathological criminal defenders often crosses into the field of psychology. He is a prolific and highly cited criminologist with approximately 400 scholarly publications and 29 books to his credit on multiple topics in the social, behavioral and forensic sciences.

Wickert recognized by environmental safety group

Senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert received the 2019 "Campus Leaders Who Care" award from the Campus Safety, Health and Environmental Management Association, which serves EH&S professionals in higher education. Wickert was honored for his active role in fostering a campus culture of safety, including his prominent role in a safe campus video created for faculty and staff, including environmental health and safety topics in the annual new faculty orientation, and commiting funds for safety training and a research safety symposium. Wickert urges faculty to cover emergency topics with their students on the first day of class and spent a day as a hazardous waste technician with EH&S staff to better understand hazardous wastes in higher education.