Honors and awards

February 2016

Kostelnick receives award for excellence in research

Charlie Kostelnick, professor of English, was selected as the 2016 recipient of the Society for Technical Communication’s Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research.The award honors research that has made positive, significant contributions to technical communication practice and teaching. It rewards a lifetime of quality research in the field, a single high-quality empirical study or a set of related high-quality studies. 

Sundararajan named ASME Fellow

Sriram Sundararajan, a mechanical engineering professor, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The title of “Fellow” is awarded to 2.5 percent of ASME members. ASME cited Sundararajan’s selection because he is “an outstanding researcher and dedicated mechanical engineering educator.” 

Shimkat appointed to SEC advisory group

Lisa Shimkat, state director of the Small Business Development Center, headquartered in the ISU Research Park, will serve on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's advisory committee on small and emerging companies. Her term continues through September 2017.

LAS scientists receive NSF's highest honor

Rebecca Flint, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, and Amanda Weinstein, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, have both been awarded CAREER Awards from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious award to support junior faculty who effectively integrate research and education within the mission of their organization.

Wintersteen honored by ag society

Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Wendy Wintersteen has received the Distinguished Service to Iowa Agriculture Award from the Iowa chapter of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. Wintersteen was recognized for leading the growth of undergraduate education at ISU, serving the state as an extension specialist and being a "champion" for students, faculty and staff in the college and for the state's agricultural industry. Wintersteen will donate the $250 cash award to the college's Floyd Andre Scholarship for Excellence in Industry.

Business College collects elite award

The College of Business is among only 30 schools in the world to receive the Innovations That Inspire Award. The award, from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, recognizes the college's global efforts, such as associate professor Scott Grawe's unique way of explaining the international supply chain. He and 27 students followed the supply chain backwards, physically tracing a spatula in an Ames Target store to the shipping docks in Lost Angeles, then back to the factory in China, where it was produced.

Martin wins Fulbright Scholar Grant to India

Chris Martin, associate professor of art and visual culture, has been named a Fulbright Scholar for 2016-2017 to study traditional craft forms in India and develop collaborative relationships with Indian artisans. The Core Fulbright Global Scholar Program sends 1,200 U.S. faculty and professionals to more than 125 countries each year to teach and conduct research in a wide variety of fields. The program awards 52 grants annually for faculty research in India. Martin will spend five months in Ahmedabad, the largest city and former capital of Gujarat, India, from August through December. 

Low wins environmental history prize

An article written by associate professor of history Michael Christopher Low recently won the 2016 Alice Hamilton Prize, from the American Society for Environmental History. Low's article "Ottoman Infrastructures of the Saudi Hydro-State: The Technopolitics of Pilgrimage and Potable Water in the Hijaz," was published in Comparative Studies in Society and History in October 2015.

Welch elected to board of directors

Corey Welch, program manager of STEM Scholars in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, was elected to the board of directors of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science. The society is dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Chicano and Native American scientists to attain advanced degrees, careers and leadership positions.