Honors and awards

November 2014

Hanson, Seeger and Wagner win Iowa APA awards

Christopher J. Seeger, associate professor of landscape architecture and extension landscape architect, and Bailey Hanson, systems analyst with ISU Extension and Outreach Community and Economic Development, received an Iowa APA Public Outreach Award from the Iowa chapter of the American Planning Association for the Iowans Walking Assessment Logistics Kit (I-WALK). The program is a partnership with the Iowa Department of Public Health.

Mimi Wagner, associate professor of landscape architecture, received an Iowa APA Best Practices Award for the "Loess Hills of Western Iowa Common Vision and Comprehensive Plan," a project done in collaboration with Genus Landscape Architects in Des Moines.

Lewis named chair of AIA jury

Calvin Lewis, professor of architecture, has been selected to chair the 2015 AIA Institute Honor Awards in Architecture jury for the American Institute of Architects. He also chaired the 2014 AIA Colorado North Design and Honor Awards jury and presented a lecture at the AIA Colorado conference in October.

Retallick wins Teacher of the Year Award

Michael Retallick, Agricultural Education & Studies,is the 2014 recipient of the Iowa State University AgOnline Teacher of the Year award is sponsored by the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer. This award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to credit or noncredit courses through online teaching. Candidates are nominated by AgOnline students and reviewed by the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer staff.

Whitehead honored with AIA Iowa Educator Award

Rob Whitehead, assistant professor of architecture, received the 2014 Educator Award from the Iowa chapter of the American Institute of Architects Sept. 25 at the AIA Iowa Annual Convention in Des Moines. The award recognizes significant contributions to architectural education in Iowa.

Academic advising award recipients announced

The University Academic Advising Committee has announced the recipients of the 2014-15 advising awards. Recipients of the impact award are John Burnett, Agriculture and Life Sciences; and Jane Dawson, Liberal Arts and Sciences. Recipient of the early achievement award is Ulrike Genschel, Liberal Arts and Sciences. College advisers of the year are: John Burnett, Agriculture and Life Sciences; Stephanie Larson, Business; Chiu Shui Chan, Design; Lindsay Diers, Engineering; Jamie Beyer, Human Sciences; and Terry Alexander, Liberal Arts and Sciences. 

Badenhope, Seeger win conference presentation recognition

"Crowd Sourcing Systems Information," a presentation by landscape architecture associate professors Julia Badenhope and Chris Seeger, was selected as one of the "Best Presentations from the 2014 Vermont Tools of the Trade Conference," which took place in Burlington, Vt., in July. Based on attendee and committee reviews, their presentation was recognized as one of the most innovative, timely and useful at the conference. They are invited to present their work to a larger audience at the 2015 Transportation Research Board Annual Conference in Washington, DC, in January.

Youngs earns USDA Teaching Award

Curtis Youngs, professor of animal science, has received the annual U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Agricultural Sciences Regional Excellence in Teaching Award. Youngs was one of 10 professors nationwide to be recognized for their use of innovative teaching methods and service to students. The elite award program is sponsored by the USDA, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.