Honors and awards

February 2022

Peters named a fellow in biochem society

Reuben Peters, Distinguished Professor of biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology, has been named a 2022 fellow of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB). Peters is one of 28 distinguished members who are being honored for their outstanding accomplishments in research, education, mentorship and service to the scientific community. The newly named fellows will be recognized at the 2022 ASBMB Annual Meeting in April in Philadelphia, in conjunction with the Experimental Biology conference.

Davis named Golden Owl Award recipient

Jon Davis, agricultural education and studies assistant teaching professor, was named one of seven Golden Owl Award recipients in the state of Iowa during a ceremony Feb. 18. The award recognizes agricultural educators who devote countless hours, and often their own resources, to positively impact the lives of their students. Davis was one of 166 agriculture teachers in the state nominated for the award. Seven were named finalists and will go on to compete for the grand prize award, which will be announced during the Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference in April.

Mallapragada and Narasimhan elected as AIChE fellows

Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, Carol Vohs Johnson Chair and associate vice president for research Surya Mallapragada and Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering and Vlasta Klima Balloun Faculty Chair Balaji Narasimhan were recently elected fellows of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). Fellow is AIChE’s highest grade of membership and is achieved only through nomination and election by the organization's board of directors.

Rajala elected to National Academy of Engineering

Sarah A. Rajala, former dean of the College of Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), one of the highest professional recognitions in engineering. Rajala, an emeritus professor of electrical and computer engineering, is being honored for "innovations in engineering education: outcomes assessment, greater participation and retention of women in engineering, and an enhanced global community." New members of the NAE will be formally inducted in October at the academy's annual meeting.

Iadecola honored by National Science Foundation

Thomas Iadecola, physics assistant professor, earned a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The $470,000 grant will support his theoretical quantum dynamics research and educational outreach efforts designed to engage pre-college and college students in quantum physics. The CAREER award is the NSF's most prestigious award in support of early-career faculty.