Honors and awards

June 2016

Transportation services is sustainability-accredited

ISU transportation services recently was designated a sustainability-accredited fleet by the National Association of Fleet Administrators. NAFA bestows the award on fleets that have demonstrated meaningful progress in improving air quality through decreasing emissions, increasing fuel efficiency and reducing fuel use.

Woods receives distinguished service award

Barbara Woods, human sciences special projects manager with ISU Extension and Outreach, has received the distinguished service award from American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Iowa Affiliate. Woods also is an adjunct assistant professor in the human development and family studies department. The award recognizes professional excellence and achievement in family and consumer sciences with outstanding service to AAFCS.

Wiegand receives national advising award

Jason Wiegand, an academic adviser in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, is a recipient of the 2016 Outstanding New Advisor Award (category for those whose primary role is academic advising) from NACADA (National Acadmic Advising Association). The award recognizes consistent evidence of qualities associated with outstanding student advising in individuals who have served as an adviser for three years or less. Wiegand will be honored at the NACADA annual conference in October in Atlanta.

Bender named to national list

Holly Bender, professor of veterinary pathology and associate director of the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching, was named one of the 15 Most Influential Veterinarians in the country by VeterinarianEDU.org, an organization that promotes careers in veterinary medicine. Bender was recognized for her part in developing Diagnostic Pathfinder, software that assists veterinarians in analyzing symptoms and data to reach a diagnosis, and for her efforts to improve teaching in higher education.

Hogberg receives portrait award

Maynard Hogberg, professor emeritus and former chair of the animal science department (2003-15) will receive the 2016 Portrait Award in November from the Saddle and Sirloin Club, Louisville, Kentucky. The award is one of the American livestock industry's highest honors, honoring individuals who have provided outstanding service and leadership to animal agriculture. Iowa State is seeking donations to fund the expenses of the portrait and to support student scholarships and judging team programs in the animal science department.