Honors and awards

September 2012

Terpenny named 2012 ASME fellow

Janis Terpenny, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering department (IMSE) chair and Joseph Walkup Professor, has been named a 2012 ASME Fellow. The ASME Board of Governors awards the Fellow grade of membership to worthy candidates in recognition of their outstanding engineering achievements.

Badenhope elected society fellow

Julia Badenhope, associate professor of landscape architecture and director of the Iowa's Living Roadways Community Visioning Program, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects. She is one of 33 landscape architects -- including two Iowa State alumni -- to be honored at this year's ASLA meeting.

MacDonald receives ASME young investigator award

Erin MacDonald, ISU mechanical engineering, and affiliated researcher at the U.S. Department of Energy Ames Laboratory, recently received the ASME Design Automation Young Investigator Award. The award recognizes an outstanding young investigator who is making noteworthy contributions in the area of design automation, including research in design representation, design optimization, design evaluation, and/or design integration.

Vance receives honorary doctorate

Judy Vance, Joseph C. And Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professor of Engineering, has received an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Engineering from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, U.K. Vance was honored for her preeminence in, and outstanding innovative contribution to, advancing virtual reality engineering design applications, as well as for her influence as an advocate to promote the participation of women in engineering.

Kim receives DARPA Award

Gap-Yong Kim, ISU mechanical engineering, recently received the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award. The award, established to recognize junior faculty members who show great potential and expose them to the needs of the Department of Defense, will provide $231,912 to fund a two-year project.

Jensen and Christians awarded for applied research

Helen Jensen and Nick Christians were presented the Dean Lee R. Kolmer Award for Excellence in Applied Research Sept. 4 by the ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Jensen, a professor of economics, was recognized for her work in applying economics to nutrition and food policy. Christians, a University Professor of horticulture, was recognized for his research on turfgrass, including a discovery of the herbicide properties of corn gluten meal, which was patented and is used for pre-emergence weed control.