Emerging leaders named for 2014-15

Twenty-seven faculty and staff have been chosen to participate in the next cohort of Iowa State's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA).

ELA is an academic-year initiative to develop faculty and professional and scientific staff currently serving in leadership roles at Iowa State, or who aspire to hold leadership positions. Beginning this August, participants will attend monthly sessions on leadership theory and practice, current issues in higher education and university-related challenges and opportunities. Each participant also benefits from a mentoring relationship during the year with a current Iowa State leader. The program is sponsored by the office of the senior vice president and provost.

The 2014-15 ELA class members are:

  • James Brown, finance department
  • Mark Boeck, ISU Foundation
  • Sumit Chaudhary, electrical and computer engineering department
  • Kasie Doering, office of the senior vice president and provost
  • Heidi Eichorn, College of Engineering administration
  • Amanda Fales-Williams, veterinary pathology department
  • Jonathan Fox, human development and family studies department
  • Michael Giles, recreation services
  • Patrick Gorden, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine department
  • David Grewell, agricultural and biosystems engineering department
  • Carol Heaverlo, program for women in science/engineering
  • Kristine Johansen, office of intellectual property and technology transfer
  • Japannah Kellogg, student support services
  • Joanne Marshall, School of Education
  • Michael Miller, College of Design administration
  • Mani Mina, electrical and computer engineering department
  • JoAnn Morrison, veterinary clinical sciences department
  • Ralph Napolitano, materials science and engineering department
  • Brian Ntem, information technology services
  • Jennifer Owens, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences student academic services
  • Ulrike Passe, architecture department
  • Jennifer Schroeder, office of student financial aid
  • Emily Smith, chemistry department
  • Andrea Spiker, U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory
  • Lindsey Wanderscheid, facilities planning and management
  • Andrew Weisskopf, information technology services
  • Yi Wu, purchasing department

John Schuh, director of the School of Education and Distinguished Professor emeritus in educational leadership and policy studies, will lead the program for the second year in a row. Schuh worked with an earlier leadership development program called Shared Leadership for Institutional Change.

The provost's office established the ELA program in 2009 to help prepare a broader and more diverse group of faculty and staff for leadership roles across campus. The 2014-15 ELA class is the program's fifth.