Honors and awards

November 2022

Brent Shanks named fellow in chemical society

Brent ShanksAnson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering and Mike and Jean Steffenson Faculty Chair, has been named an Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Fellow for the American Chemical Society's Class of 2023. The award is presented to a chemist or engineer from an academic, industrial or government laboratory and recognizes innovative contributions to the areas in which they have published within applied chemistry or chemical engineering.

Acker receives Fulbright specialist award

David Acker, associate dean for global engagement in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and director of the Center for Sustainable Rural Livelihoods, received a Fulbright Specialist Program award. Acker will travel to Greece for 15 days this month and for 20 days in the spring to work with individuals at Perrotis College at the American Farm School of Thessaloniki. He will focus on reimagining Greek food and agriculture sectors in anticipation of major shifts in consumer preferences, advances in production technologies and climate change.

Pappajohn Center earns national honor

The Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship received the 2022 Nasdaq Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence Award (for a university serving more than 5,000 students) from the The Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers, the highest honor in the consortium's awards. Iowa State also was a finalist for the Exceptional Activities in Entrepreneurship Across Disciplines Award.