Honors and awards

August 2018

Anderson receives distinguished scholar award

The Society for Personality and Social Psychology announced that Craig Anderson, Distinguished Professor in psychology, is the 2018 recipient of its Distinguished Scholar Award. The senior career award recognizes the broad scope and potentially integrative nature of scholarship in personality and social psychology. It honors a scholar who has made distinctively valuable research contributions across his or her career that bridge personality and social psychology or bridge personality or social psychology to another field (ie. law, education, organizations, or medicine). It is intended for individuals whose career contributions are outstanding, but do not fit neatly within the prototypical social or personality research areas.

Baker receives outstanding dissertation award

Amanda Baker, assistant professor in the School of Education, received the Paul R. Pintrich Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Educational Psychology division of the American Psychological Association for her doctoral dissertation, "Epistemic Profiles, Dissonance Negotiation and Perspective Transformation in Postsecondary Service-Learning."

Wintersteen joins World Food Prize Council of Advisors

President Wendy Wintersteen joined the World Food Prize Council of Advisors and will review, advise and guide the World Food Prize Foundation leadership on policies and the design and implementation of foundation programs. She will also participate in appointing members of the World Food Prize Laureate Selection Committee and endorsing the selection committee’s choice of a new Laureate each year.

Xin honored by ABE society

Hongwei Xin, a Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Agriculture and Life Sciences was presented the Cyrus Hall McCormick-Jerome Case Gold Medal by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE). The award recognized Xin for his exceptional engineering and administrator achievements in advancing animal agriculture worldwide. He is a professor in agricultural and biosystems engineering, and holds the Iowa Egg Council Endowed Professorship (animal science). Xin also serves as the assistant dean for research in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, directs the Egg Industry Center and is the interim director of the Iowa Nutrient Research Center.

Meyer receives national professional award

Brian Meyer, director of college relations for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, received the ACE Professional Award from the Association of Communications Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Life and Human Sciences (ACE). The national award is the highest honor presented by the association, which offers professional development and networking for those who write about and promote agriculture, natural resources and life and human sciences.

Live Green program recognized nationally for waste reduction

Iowa State was recognized among the Top 10 universities (#9) for waste reduction and diversion in the 2018 "Sustainable Campus Index" (page 46) published by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). The index notes top performers in all the categories AASHE includes in its STARS (Sustainability Tracking, Assessment and Rating System) certification process.

Science Bound program honored for STEM achievement

Iowa State's Science Bound program was honored for inspiring and encouraging a new generation of underrepresented students to enter the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Science Bound received a 2018 Inspiring Programs in STEM Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, a publication that focuses on diversity and inclusion in higher education. The honor recognizes Science Bound as a model for other institutions. This year, more than 400 students in grades 8-12 and their families will participate in Science Bound and 160 program graduates will attend Iowa State. Another 135 program graduates have earned bachelor’s degrees from Iowa State.

Statistics center receives national recognition

The Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Science received the Statistical Partnerships Among Academe, Industry and Government (SPAIG) Award July 30 from the American Statistical Association. The award recognizes outstanding collaborations between organizations as well as key individual contributors. The SPAIG selection committee selected CSAFE and its three-year partnership with the National Institute of Standards and Technology for building a foundation for forensic evidence analysis and interpretation, and for contributing to the statistical training of forensic practitioners and legal professionals.

Procurement services receives national distinction

ISU's procurement services has received the annual Achievement of Excellence in Procurement distinction from the National Procurement Institute. 2018 marks the 14th consecutive year Iowa State has achieved this, joining 26 other universities among 200 total public and not-for-profit organizations this year. The application requires submissions in five broad categories that assess innovation, professionalism, productivity, leadership and e-procurement. Of 200 possible points, Iowa State received a score of 145.

Johnson and Stalder presented national awards

Animal science professors Anna Johnson and Kenneth Stalder were honored with national awards from the American Society of Animal Science in July. Johnson received the Animal Industry Service Award in recognition of her work in animal welfare. Stalder, who helped the U.S. swine industry focus on sow longevity, was named an ASAS Fellow.