Honors and awards

May 2018

Bystrom named to Iowa Women's Hall of Fame

Dianne Bystrom, director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, is a 2018 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame inductee, as selected by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women. The honor recognizes important contributions to society, and Bystrom is noted for her roles as author, mentor, teacher, researcher and advocate for women in politics and leadership. She will be honored during an induction event Aug. 18 in Des Moines.

Inefuku receives emerging leader award

Harrison Inefuku, scholarly publishing services librarian at Parks Library, is the 2018 recipient of the Mark A. Greene Emerging Leader Award from the Society of American Archivists. He'll receive the award in August during an annual conference. The award celebrates early career archivists who have completed archival work of broad merit, demonstrated significant promise of leadership and performed commendable service to the archives profession. Inefuku oversaw the development of the university's Digital Repository. He leads the library's publishing program and is exploring new digital scholarship services.

WiSE receives national initiative award

The Program for Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) was awarded the 2018 Women in Engineering Initiative Award by the Women in Engineering ProActive Network. A single university is selected from a competitive pool for this prestigious award. WiSE was recognized for "being a model for women in engineering programs across the nation." The network strives to create change in higher education to increase the number, and advance the prominence of, diverse communities of women in engineering.

Dickson appointed to national committee

Jim Dickson, professor of animal science, has been appointed to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue. Dickson will serve a two-year term on the 30-member advisory committee.

Exemplary faculty mentors honored

Twelve Iowa State faculty were honored May 2 for their service as mentors. The Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award recognizes faculty mentors who go above and beyond the formal expectations of Iowa State's mentoring program. Winners are nominated by their "mentees" for the positive impact they have made in their lives and careers. This year's honorees are:

  • Carolyn Cutrona, psychology
  • Anne Foegen, School of Education
  • Neal Iverson, geological and atmospheric sciences
  • William Jenks, chemistry
  • Susan Lamont, animal science
  • Raj Raman, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Elisa Rizo, world languages and cultures
  • Emily Smith, chemistry
  • Ann Marie VanDerZanden, provost's office, horticulture
  • Stacy Weber-Feve, world languages and cultures
  • Hongwei Xin, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences dean's office
  • Yanhai Yin, genetics, development and cell biology

Awards given to learning communities champions

Awards honoring individuals and teams for their extraordinary contributions to Iowa State learning communities were presented at the 20th Annual Learning Communities Institute on May 7. This year's winners:

  • Amy Slagell (College of Liberal Arts and Sciences), Corly Brooke Learning Community Advocate Award
  • Stacey Barnes (Sky is the Limit learning community), Outstanding Innovations Award
  • Jennifer Saldanha (Sky is the Limit learning community), Outstanding Innovations Award
  • Chelsea Smith (BOLD learning community), Outstanding Innovations Award
  • Sarah Wilson (College of Human Sciences, MINDs learning community), Learning Community Champion Award
  • Jenny Aune (English), Learning Community Scholarship Award
  • Nancy Boury (microbiology), Learning Community Scholarship Award
  • Department of Mathematics, Learning Community Partner Award