Honors and awards

August 2015

Lucht earns national award for teaching excellence

Tracy Lucht, assistant professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, received the 2015 National Award for Excellence in Teaching from the American Journalism Historians Association. The award honors a college or university teacher who excels at teaching in the area of journalism and mass communication history, makes a positive impact on student learning and offers and outstanding example for other educators. Earlier this summer, Lucht received the association's Rising Scholar Award for her research.

Purchasing notches 11th consecutive national award

For the 11th consecutive year, the purchasing department has received a national award for excellence in procurement. Iowa State is among 22 higher education organizations in the U.S. and Canada earning the National Procurement Institute's annual award for organizational excellence in the field. The award denotes state-of-the-art procurement practices.

Harmon receives countryside award

Jay Harmon, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering and interim director of the Iowa Pork Industry Center, received the 2015 G.B. Gunlogson Countryside Engineering Award from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. The award recognizes engineering practices that result in enhanced techniques or technology for countryside development, or plans, programs or other leadership activities that promote the development of the countryside. Specifically, Harmon was honored for his exemplary service to improving animal production systems by applying engineering principles and performance in research, extension and outreach, and teaching.

Baum receives research award

Thomas Baum, professor of plant pathology, has received the Noel T. Keen Award for Research Excellence in Molecular Plant Pathology from the American Phytopathological Society. The award recognizes society members who have made outstanding contributions and demonstrated sustained excellence and leadership in research that significantly advances the understanding of pathology at the molecular level.