Honors and awards

June 2015

Stange receives teacher-of-the-year honor

Lisa Stange, family and consumer sciences education and studies program coordinator and lecturer, was named the 2015 post-secondary teacher of the year by the Iowa Association for Career and Technical Education. The award recognizes career and technical teachers and teacher educators who have demonstrated excellence and best practices at the postsecondary level.

Committee receives Mapworks Excellence Award

Iowa State’s Mapworks assessment subcommittee was recognized as an Excellence Award winner at the Skyfactor Mapworks annual conference. Since its inception in fall 2010, the sub-committee has worked to assess the level of Mapworks report usage among Iowa State students and its impact on their success. Mapworks is a student retention and success system that was implemented at ISU in 2008.

Heising receives culture award

Carolyn Heising, professor emeritus in industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, was recognized as the 2015 faculty/staff member most dedicated to cultural/international enhancement by the International Student Council.

Simonson elected to academy membership

Donald Simonson, Morrill Professor of Music and Theatre, has been elected to membership in the American Academy of Teachers of Singing. Membership is open only by internal nomination and election. Membership is for life and is limited to 40 individuals. The organization strives to improve the profession and further the vocal arts through research, publication, convention presentations, adjudication and other activities.

Spoth earns national institute's presidential award

Richard Spoth, director of Iowa State's Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute, received the 2015 Presidential Award from the Society for Prevention Research. The award recognizes major contributions to prevention science -- a field of study that employs scientific research to reduce risks among people and communities by promoting healthy lifestyles and wellbeing.

Karriker elected to national board

Dr. Locke Karriker, associate professor in veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine and director of ISU's Swine Medicine Education Center, has been elected to the American Association of Swine Veterinarians' board of directors. Karriker will represent district 6 (Iowa) and serve a three-year term.

Learning Community award recipients named

At the 17th annual Learning Communities Institute on May 11, eight individuals and two academic programs were recognized for their contributions to Iowa State's learning communities. The recipients are:

  • Jane Jacobson, LAS College
  • Jenny Gibbs and Shannon Grundmeier, chemical engineering learning community coordinators
  • John Burnett, natural resource ecology and management
  • Anne Oldham, food science and human nutrition
  • Devna Popejoy-Sheriff, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering
  • Construction engineering program
  • Leadership studies program