Honors and awards

September 2016

Rico-Gutierrez named a top design educator

Luis Rico-Gutierrez, professor of architecture and dean of the College of Design, is among 25 exemplary professionals in education and education administration, recognized by DesignIntelligence magazine. Educators from the disciplines of architecture, interior design and landscape architecture were eligible.

Transportation services makes "best fleets" list

ISU Transportation services has been named to the 2016 "100 Best Fleets in North America" list, which recognizes top-performing vehicle fleets among North American cities, counties, airports and other public entities. Just three universities are on the list. Fleet services are assessed on 12 criteria.

Attinger named ASME Fellow

Daniel Attinger, associate professor of mechanical engineering, has been named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ASME awards the title of fellow to just 2.5 percent of its members. Attinger was recognized as "an inspiring and recognized research leader in the field of multiphase microfluidics."

Clough, Olson win national science teaching award

School of Education professors Michael Clough and Joanne Olson are the 2017 recipients of the Innovation in Teaching Science Teachers award from the Association for Science Teacher Education. The award recognizes the duo's paper about Iowa State's M.A. in Teaching program, which looked at alumni's classroom practices two to five years after completing the program.

Holme receives national chemistry award

Professor of chemistry Thomas Holme is the recipient of the 2017 George C. Pimentel Award in Chemical Education from the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to chemical education. 

Pohlman honored by Iowa Museum Association

Lynette Pohlman, director and chief curator for University Museums, will receive a leadership award from the Iowa Museum Association at its annual conference, Oct. 16-18. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the museum field through visionary leadership and statewide impact on the museum field.