Honors and awards

June 2012

Lonergan receives Distinguished Research Award

Steven Lonergan, ISU Animal Science, is the recipient of the American Meat Science Association's (AMSA) 2012 Distinguished Research Award. The award was established in 1965 to recognize members with outstanding research contributions to the meat industry and is sponsored by ConAgra Foods.  D

White elected president of Board of Human Sciences

Pamela White, dean of the College of Human Sciences, was elected president of the Board of Human Sciences for the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. She will serve a one-year term.

Coberley named University Athletic Trainer of the Year

Mark Coberley, ISU athletics, was named the 2012 IATS College/University Athletic Trainer of the Year. Mark is our director of athletic training and an associate athletics director. He has been actively involved in the athletic training profession for over 20 years and has served in various capacities in IATS, the MAATA and the NATA.

Four from ECpE earn NSF CAREER Awards

Four researchers in the Iowa State Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering were awarded the prestigious National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award in 2012. Santosh Pandey, Aditya Ramamoorthy, Umesh Vaidya and Joseph Zambreno each earned awards and pushed the department’s total number of NSF CAREER Awards to 16. The four awards represent the most in a single year by ECpE researchers.

Two ISU faculty among top 50 creative writing profs on Twitter

Iowa State's Mary Swander (@MSwander) and Dean Bakopoulos (@DeanBakopoulos) have made World Wide Learn's list of the top 50 creative writing professors on Twitter.