Honors and awards

October 2016

Canfield receives McGroddy Prize

Paul Canfield, a Distinguished Professor and the Robert Allen Wright Professor of physics and astronomy and a senior scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, has been awarded the James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials by the American Physical Society. His selection was based on the "development and use of solution growth of single crystalline intermetallic materials to design, discover, and elucidate new heavy fermion, superconducting, magnetic, and quasicrystalline states." The McGroddy Prize is intended to stimulate the discovery of new classes of materials, the observation of novel phenomena in known materials that lead to both fundamentally new applications and scientific insights, and theoretical and experimental work that contributes significantly to the understanding of new materials phenomena. 

Carriquiry and Roth named to National Academy of Medicine

Alicia Carriquiry, Distinguished Professor of statistics, and James Roth, Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine, were elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Carriquiry has advanced the understanding of nutrition and dietary assessment by developing statistical methods to better measure food consumption, specifically, nutrient intake. Her work has also focused on mental health issues, which includes leading an ongoing effort by NAM to evaluate Veterans Affairs mental health services.

Roth, who also serves as director of the Center for Food Security and Public Health and executive director of the Institute for International Cooperation in Animal Biologics, is the first faculty member from the College of Veterinary Medicine to gain membership in the academy. He’s devoted much of his career to studying the immunology of infectious diseases of livestock and management of foreign animal disease outbreaks.

McNeil re-elected to HathiTrust board

Library dean Beth McNeil has been re-elected to serve on the HathiTrust Board of Governors, with a term that runs through December 2018. The 12-member board oversees HathiTrust’s 10-million-volume digital preservation repository, research center and other programs. HathiTrust has been successful in building shared infrastructure for digital preservation, which can serve as a foundation to help build effective shared print storage strategies.

White named Roderuck fellow

Wendy White, associate professor of food science and human nutrition, is the newest holder of the Charlotte E. Roderuck faculty fellowship in the Nutrition and Wellness Research Center. Her fellowship runs through May 2018.

Bern receives inaugural food security award

Professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering Carl Bern is the inaugural recipient of the Sukup Global Food Security Award from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. The award recognizes contributions to global food security through work and mentoring in grain drying, handling and storage. Bern mentors students in research projects, independent study courses, senior capstone projects and honors courses.