Honors and awards

Francis, Woteki honored for work

Food science and human nutrition professor Sarah Francis won the Excellence in Nutrition Education Award from the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and its foundation. Food science and human nutrition professor Catherine Woteki was named the ASN volunteer of the year. Woteki is the chair of the ASN Foundation Board of Trustees. The awards recognize outstanding contributions and pioneering advancements in the field of nutrition, and are a testament to excellence and innovation.

Freestone receives service award

Sarah Freestone, senior assistant director in the office of student financial aid, received the Meritorious Service Award from the Iowa Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators. The award recognizes a significant contribution to the association or the financial aid profession. Selection is based on leadership; work on an important project or significant service to students, the association or the profession.

Shimkat recognized for rural Iowa leadership

Lisa Shimkat, director of the Iowa Small Business Development Center, received the Rand Fisher Rural Leadership Award, sponsored by the IADG Community Foundation, during this month's 8th annual Iowa Rural Summit. The award recognizes individuals in rural economic and community development, philanthropy, the arts and utilities. Shimkat was was cited for her role directing the 15 SBDC locations across the state that provide business counseling for entrepreneurs in all areas of starting, operating and expanding a business, and for her service on several state and national development boards.

Jensen named honorary member of historical association

State relations officer Carolann Jensen has been named an honorary member of the Pioneer Lawmakers' Association of Iowa to recognize her 38 years of service working with the Iowa Legislature. The organization was created in 1886 to preserve the history of Iowa and biographies of its public men and women.

2024 recipients of the Live Green! Excellence Awards

During Iowa State's annual Symposium on Sustainability Feb. 26, recipients of the 2024 Live Green! Awards for Excellence in Sustainability were honored. They are:

  • Custodial Services, facilities planning and management
  • Kurt Rosentrater, professor in agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Organic Agriculture Program, ISU Extension and Outreach
  • ISU Catering

Lu, Zhang receive Bailey Research Career Development Award

Meng Lu, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Qijing  Zhang, Distinguished Professor in veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine, received a 2024 Bailey Research Career Development Award, an internal Iowa State grant designed to give faculty time for high-risk, high-impact research in emerging areas with practical applications. They will receive $50,000 per year for three years to assist their research to address increasing rates of antimicrobial resistance by transforming predatory viruses into an antibiotic substitute. 

Main named outstanding swine academic of 2024

Dr. Rodger Main, director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, received the 2024 Outstanding Swine Academic of the Year Award from the American Association of Swine Veterinarians. The award recognizes demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service to the swine veterinary profession.

Tessonnier named senior member of inventors academy

Jean-Philippe Tessonnier, Richard C. Seagrave Professor in Chemical and Biological Engineering, has been named a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors. Members are regarded as "rising stars who foster a spirit of innovation within their communities and institutions while educating and mentoring the next generation of inventors." With his team of graduate and undergraduate students, Tessonnier develops technologies for a greener, more sustainable chemical industry. Their work combines innovations in biomass, catalyst design, electrosynthesis, advanced manufacturing and performance materials.

Bookstore recognized for tech product management

The Iowa State University Book Store received the 2024 Excellence in Technology Product Management award from the Independent College Book Store Association, which serves institutionally-affiliated college stores. The award recognized the bookstore for increasing its tech product revenue 30% over the last five years and doubling its turns (selling the entire inventory) from 2022 to 2023. It's part of an award series from the Independent College Stores Report, a comprehensive financial survey of independent stores that offers a snapshot of independent college stores and reflects trends.

← View Archive