Honors and awards

July 2023

Lübberstedt named president of plant breeders association

Thomas Lübberstedt, K.J. Frey Chair in agronomy, was named president of the National Association of Plant Breeders in July. He will lead a diverse group of scientists and graduate students in plant breeding and related fields. The organization fosters networking between public and private sectors, provides advocacy for plant breeding, and advances excellence in research, education and outreach.

Statistics team contributes to national award for resource inventory

The Natural Resources Inventory (NRI) has received a 2023 Project Award from the Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units national network. The NRI is a nationwide longitudinal survey (dating to 1982) to assess the status, condition and trends of soil, water and related resources on nonfederal lands. Staff at ISU's Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology and the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service have collaborated on the inventory since its inception.

Easterling recognized for civil engineering leadership

W. Samuel Easterling, James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering, is a co-recipient of the 2023 Thomas A. Lenox Excellence in Civil Engineering Education Leadership Award presented by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It recognizes "extraordinary leadership in civil engineering education." As a leader of the society's department heads coordinating council, he was recognized for increasing civil engineering department heads and chairs' engagement with the society.

Lelonek recognized for early impact

Taylor Lelonek, program specialist in the office of student financial aid, is the recipient the 2023 Dan Kreidler Newcomer of the Year award, presented by the Midwest Association of Student Employment Administrators. The award celebrates a newcomer who has given a unique and notable contribution to the association and the field of student employment within the first two years of membership. Lelonek's nomination noted her work ethic and attention to detail, and her expansion of Iowa State's National Student Employment Week celebration to encompass wellness activities for student employees, including therapy dogs.

Johnson, Olson honored by student aid administrators group

Roberta Johnson, executive director of the office of student financial aid, received the Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators for her 40 years as a "tireless advocate and champion for student success and accessibility." The award is one of the highest awards that association bestows. Johnson retired from Iowa State on July 5.

Chad Olson, director of financial aid, received a Regional Leadership Award from the association. The six regional awards honor recipients who have exhibited high integrity and character, have shown creative leadership, and have inspired and encouraged others to actively participate in professional development.