Honors and awards

October 2022

Main receives national service award

Rodger Main, director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, received the 2022 Meritorious Award from the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians.

Procurement services team recognized for excellence

Procurement services has received an Achievement of Excellence in Procurement award from the National Procurement Institute for the 18th consecutive year. The award recognizes organizations that demonstrate commitment to innovation, professionalism, productivity, e-procurement and leadership attributes. The institute is a nonprofit organization that serves public procurement professionals internationally and is focused on leading excellence in public procurement.

Campus champion award recognizes Kedrowski's work to compel student action

Karen Kedrowski, director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, has been named 2022 Campus Champion of the Year by the Andrew Goodman Foundation. This award recognizes dedication to the Andrew Goodman Foundation's mission "to make young voices and votes a powerful force in democracy" through an outstanding commitment to civic engagement, student leadership and campus and community service.

Guiping Hu named to leadership academy class

Guiping Hu, associate professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, has been named a fellow in the fourth cohort of the IAspire Leadership Academy, aimed at helping STEM faculty from underrepresented backgrounds ascend to leadership roles at colleges and universities. She is one of 18 faculty and administrators selected in a competitive application process. The academy is part of the Aspire Alliance's Institutional Change Initiative, backed by the National Science Foundation.

Doyle honored with AIA Iowa Educator Award

Shelby Doyle, associate professor of architecture and the Stan G. Thurston Professor in Design Build at Iowa State, received the 2022 AIA Iowa Educator Award from the Iowa chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The award recognizes significant contributions to architectural education in Iowa. Her award-winning research and teaching focus on digital fabrication and mapping, environmental sustainability, gender equity in architecture and technology, and public engagement through architecture.