Honors and awards

June 2022

Gorden honored for research into milk quality

The American Dairy Science Association named Dr. Pat Gorden, associate professor of veterinary diagnostics and production animal medicine, as the 2022 recipient of the West Agro Inc. Award. The award, presented during the association's annual meeting in Kansas City in June, recognizes outstanding research in milk quality. Gorden is director of the food supply veterinary program and focuses his research on milk quality, mastitis control and drug residue prevention in milk and meat.

Martin receives distinguished parasitology award

The American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists named Dr. Richard Martin, a Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine and the E.A. Benbrook Endowed Chair of Pathology and Parasitology, as the 2022 recipient of the Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist Award. The award honors contributions to veterinary parasitology that are significant and important for understanding and controlling parasitic diseases in animals. 

Ames Lab named chemical landmark

The U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory has been designated a National Historic Chemical Landmark by the American Chemical Society. The designation honors the heroic effort by a group of college scientists and technicians to produce pure uranium metal for the Manhattan Project, which was a decisive factor in ending World War II.

Six faculty awarded Fulbright fellowships for 2022-23 academic year

Six Iowa State faculty were selected for a Fulbright U.S. Scholar fellowship for the 2022-23 competition. Two faculty, Tunde Adeleke and Rodney Fox, received Distinguished Fulbright awards, as noted. Below is a short synopsis of their plans.

  • Dean Adams, Distinguished Professor in ecology, evolution and organismal biology, to collaborate with researchers at the Institute of Biological Evolution, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain, January-April 2023
  • Tunde Adeleke, professor of history and director of the African and African American Studies program, as the Fulbright Laszlo Orszagh Distinguished Professor in American Studies, in the North American studies department at the University of Hungary, Debrecen.
  • Rodney Fox, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in chemical and biological engineering and Hershel B. Whitney Professor, Global Initiatives, as the Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair, at Centrale Supélec, an engineering graduate school in Gif-sur-Yvette, France, fall semester
  • Joey George, Distinguished Professor in the information systems and business analytics department and John D. DeVries Endowed Chair in Business, to collaborate on research projects with faculty and doctoral students at Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada, September-November
  • Ted Grevstad-Nordbrock, assistant professor of community and regional planning, to conduct research at the Norwegian Institute for Cultural Heritage Research, Oslo, Norway, fall semester
  • Shenglan Zhang, associate professor of Chinese, world languages and cultures, to conduct research at National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei

UHR recognized with regional excellence award

The university human resources department won the HR Excellence Award for the midwest region given by the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources. The announcement of the award noted the positive impact of implementing Workday for finance, payroll and HR and the shift to service delivery teams for HR and finance. The award came with a $1,000 award, which is being devoted to professional development.

Juilliard awards honorary doctorate to Estes

At its spring commencement May 20, the Juilliard School of Music presented Simon Estes with an honorary doctoral degree. Estes, the music and theatre department’s F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Artist-in-Residence since 2000, is an internationally recognized opera singer and philanthropist. Estes is also a Juilliard alumnus. The Centerville native received an honorary doctorate from Iowa State in 1997.

Two ISU Theatre productions earned Kennedy Center awards

Two ISU Theatre productions earned multiple major national awards at the recent Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival in Washington.

"Songs for a New World" and "Facing Our Truth: Ten Minute Plays on Trayvon, Race and Privilege" were honored with the Citizen Artist Award. Iowa State was the only university to have two productions singled out for this award, which recognizes programs in higher education using theatrical production to promote long-term societal impact through the arts, to encourage empathetic exploration of the complex cultural and physical world and to advocate for justice on campus and throughout the world.

"Songs for a New World" also was honored with additional national awards in several categories celebrating outstanding achievement in musical production, production design, proudction and performance ensemble unity, direction, scenic design and cinematography.

Govias receives change agent award at NCORE

Jonathan Govias, director of orchestral activities, received a 2022 Equity and Social Justice Award from the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE) in the change agent category. The award recognizes an individual considered an up-and-coming scholar or change agent in the field of diversity/inclusion/equity/social justice. The ISU Chamber strings again performed "Symphony of Diversity: A Thousand Thunderbolts," June 2 in Portland, joined by students from Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.; Duquesne University, Pittsburgh; and Texas State University, San Marcos. Govias said he's hopeful the performance becomes a pilot for a national Symphony of Diversity anchored at Iowa State.