Honors and awards

March 2019

2018 P&S Council CYtation Awards

Forty-one professional and scientific staff members and teams received a Professional and Scientific Council CYtation Award for 2018 at an awards breakfast March 28. CYtation awards recognize performance that's extraordinary, beyond the call of duty or making a real difference. It's meant to honor staff who might not otherwise receive recognition for outstanding work. Summaries of the recipients' achievements are posted on the council's website.

The individual awards included the Woodin Award, which is given to a professional and scientific staff member who exhibits exemplary service, positive attitude, compassion, respect, leadership, innovation and initiative. The award is named for longtime council member and ISU employee Dan Woodin, who died in 2013. The Woodin Award winner was Karin Lawton-Dunn, a program coordinator with the Graduate College's career services office.

The 11 other individual award winners were:

  • Tiffany Berkenes, 4-H Youth Program Specialist, ISU Extension and Outreach
  • Hiliary Burns, learning and development coordinator, Ames Laboratory
  • Jason Follett, academic adviser, software engineering
  • Erin Hunt, teaching laboratory associate, architecture
  • Diane Jepsen, accountant, genetics, development and cell biology
  • Jacqueline Kester, academic adviser, aerospace engineering
  • David Mwirichia, program coordinator, School of Education
  • Jessica Shannon, registered nurse, program coordinator, Thielen Student Health Center
  • Tammy Stegman, career services director, College of Human Sciences
  • Kristin Taylor, creative projects specialist, College of Human Sciences Extension and Outreach
  • Svitlana Zbarska, undergraduate research program coordinator, University Honors Program

Four teams received awards:

  • 4-H product team (10 members)
  • International students and scholars office student advisers (five members)
  • College of Liberal Arts and Science summer orientation program (two members)
  • OneApp implementation team (12 members)

Keating receives mid-career scientist award

Associate professor of animal science Aileen Keating received the Stephen B. Harris Mid-Career Scientist award from the Reproductive and Developmental Toxicology section of the Society of Toxicology. Keating serves as vice president of the specialty section and served as its new career councilor (2014-16). The criteria for the award are originality, discovery and excellence in the field of reproductive and developmental toxicology (evidenced by peer-reviewed manuscripts in journals, teaching, mentorship, leadership or other evidence of expertise in the field).

Alex King receives international materials award

Alex King, professor of materials science and engineering, received the 2019 Hollomon Materials and Society Award from Acta Materialia, a publisher of science and engineering materials research and activities.The award recognizes outstanding leadership in promoting the understanding of materials science's impact on society.

Pollard named national athletics director of the year

Athletics director Jamie Pollard was named a 2018-19 Under Armour AD of the Year by the National Association of Collegiate Director of Athletics. Pollard, in his 14th year at Iowa State, is credited with raising the competitive and academic bar for the Cyclone athletics programs, and increasing financial support and attendance. He will be honored by his peers in June at the association's convention.