Honors and awards

May 2017

Exemplary faculty mentors recognized

Seventeen ISU faculty were honored on May 3 for their exemplary service as mentors to other faculty members in a program coordinated for nearly 20 years in the provost's office. The mentors are:

  • Matthew Darr, associate professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Heather Flaherty, senior lecturer of veterinary pathology
  • Joey George, John D. DeVries Endowed Chair in Business and professor of supply chain and information systems
  • Anna Johnson, associate professor of animal science
  • Richard LeSar, professor of materials science and engineering
  • Surya Mallapragada, Distinguished Professor of chemical and biological engineering and Carol Vohs Johnson Chair in Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Sara Marcketti, professor of apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Greg Miller, professor of agricultural education and studies
  • Hridesh Rajan, Kingland Professor of Data Analytics and professor of computer science
  • Eulanda Sanders, Donna R. Danielson Professorship in Textiles and Clothing and professor of apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Matthew Sivils, professor of English
  • James Summers, associate professor of management
  • Judy Vance, Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professorship in the College of Engineering and professor of mechanical engineering
  • Mike Wannemuehler, professor and chair of veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Susan Wohlsdorf-Arendt, professor of apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Timothy Wolters, associate professor of history
  • Kimberly Zarecor, associate professor of architecture

Soy-based wax wins innovation award

A less expensive, soy-based alternative to carnauba wax developed at Iowa State has received the National Innovation Award at the TechConnect World Innovation Conference this week. The technology was developed by professor Tong Wang and post doc Tao Fei in the food science and human nutrition department. Carnauba wax is used in many foods, cosmetics and household products, from lipstick to car wax.

Learning Communities program presents 2017 awards

Awards honoring individuals and teams for their extraordinary contributions to learning communities at Iowa State were presented at the 19th Annual Learning Communities Institute on May 8. This year's winners:

  • Cinzia Cervato (geological and atmospheric sciences), Corly Brooke Learning Community Advocate Award
  • Chemical Engineering Learning Community team, Outstanding Innovations Award
  • Chuck Achter (School of Education), Learning Community Champion Award
  • Darlene Fratzke (apparel, events and hospitality management), Learning Community Champion Award
  • Amber Kargol (food science and human nutrition), Learning Community Collaborator Award
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Career Services Office, Learning Community Partner Award
  • Mark Chidister (art and visual culture), Brooke and Gruenewald Learning Community Exemplary Service Award