Honors and awards

November 2015

McNeil elected to board of governors

Beth McNeil, dean of library services, has been elected to to serve a 1-year term (Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2016) on the HathiTrust Digital Library's board of governors. The board has 12 elected and appointed members and oversees the HathiTrust’s 10 million-volume digital preservation repository, research center and other programs.

Passe elected SBSE president-elect

Ulrike Passe, associate professor of architecture and director of the ISU Center for Building Energy Research, was unanimously elected president-elect of the Society of Building Science Educators, an association of university educators and practitioners in architecture and related disciplines who support excellence in the teaching of environmental science and building technologies. Now a member of the SBSE board, Passe will serve two years each as president-elect, president and past-president.

Rajala receives award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Education Society

Sarah Rajala, dean of the College of Engineering, is the 2015 recipient of the Harriett B. Rigas Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Education Society. The national award recognizes outstanding female faculty for exceptional contributions to electrical and computer engineering education and the global engineering community through student and faculty development, transformational and inclusive institutional and professional leadership, and engineering accreditation service.