Emerging leaders class begins its work

The 31 members of this year's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA), who began their studies earlier this month, are working with a different leadership team. Assistant provost for faculty development Tera Jordan joins Katharine Hensley, faculty success coordinator on the provost's staff, as program co-director. Jordan, associate professor of human development and family studies, succeeds professor of veterinary clinical sciences Rod Bagley. Hensley and Bagley had co-directed the program since fall 2017.

ELA, sponsored by the office of the senior vice president and provost since 2009, is aimed at developing leadership skills among faculty and professional and scientific staff who serve in leadership roles -- or aspire to serve. For one academic year, the ELA cohort participates in monthly leadership activities led by university senior leaders and content experts, and work on team capstone projects that expand their knowledge of campus activities, opportunities and challenges.

Associate provost for faculty Dawn Bratsch-Prince said the competitive program receives many more nominations than it can accept and is carefully curated to ensure representation across the university's divisions and units.

After two years of online and hybrid meetings due to the pandemic, this year's cohort is returning to in-person sessions that better promote the networking and team-building that are a hallmark of the program.   

Class roster

The members of the 2022-23 ELA class are:

  • Pavan Aduri, computer science
  • Diane Al Shihabi, interior design
  • Hanna Bates, Nanovaccine Institute
  • Bryan Bellaire, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Rachel Boenigk, office of the vice president for student affairs
  • Petrutza Caragea, statistics
  • Wesley Gee, facilities planning and management
  • Meghan Gillette, human development and family studies
  • Molly Granseth, Ames National Laboratory
  • Natallia Gray, management and entrepreneurship
  • Rachael Gross, finance service delivery
  • Mark Hargrove, biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology
  • Kyle Holtman, learning communities program
  • Hui Hu, aerospace engineering
  • Connor Kuehl, information technology services
  • Sarah Kyle, art and visual culture
  • Daniel Linhares, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • Andrea Little, university human resources
  • Rano Marupova, university library
  • Missy Nowell, veterinary pathology
  • Ben Pullen, 4-H youth development
  • Natalie Robinson, Graduate College student services
  • Rebecca Runyon, LAS College Start Something
  • Kelsey Sampson, athletics
  • Chris Strawhacker, facilities planning and management
  • Nathaniel Wade, psychology
  • Patrick Wall, extension and outreach
  • Eric Weber, math
  • Johna Wolfe, LAS College student academic services
  • Arnold Woods, LAS College multicultural student success
  • Hongwei Zhang, electrical and computer engineering