Eighth leadership academy begins its work

Twenty-eight faculty and staff have been chosen to participate in the 2018-19 cohort of Iowa State's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA).

The initiative helps prepare faculty and professional and scientific staff serving or aspiring to serve in leadership roles for their respective leadership challenges. Participants attend monthly sessions during the academic year on various topics associated with leadership theory and practice, communication, formal presentation, understanding environment and culture, budgeting and resource management, performance management and ethical leadership.

The 2018-19 class will be the program's eighth cohort. Participants are:

  • Rachel Allbaugh, veterinary clinical services
  • Michele Appelgate, Ivy College of Business marketing and alumni relations
  • Jeanine Aune, English
  • Carlton Basmajian, community and regional planning
  • Leana Bouffard, sociology
  • Joe Burnett, chemistry
  • Michael Dahlstrom, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
  • Brad Dell, music and theatre
  • Carmen Gomes, mechanical engineering
  • Heather Greenlee, biomedical sciences
  • Chris Haase, Ames Laboratory
  • Emily Hager, ISU Foundation
  • Cory Harms, procurement services
  • Laura Jesse Iles, plant pathology and microbiology
  • Amy Juhnke, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences communications
  • Sarah Kaatz, office of responsible research
  • Misty Lambert, agricultural education and studies
  • Jacob Larsen, world languages and cultures
  • Brett Lohoefener, university counsel
  • Sven Morgan, geological and atmospheric sciences
  • Ryan Ott, Ames Laboratory
  • Valentina Salotti, finance department
  • Thomas Schrier, apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Sri Sritharan, civil, construction and environmental engineering
  • Jessica Stolee, Extension and outreach human resources
  • Amy Ward, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
  • Sarah Wilson, College of Human Sciences student services
  • Christian Wimmer, student counseling services

ELA was established in 2009 to help prepare a broader and more diverse group of faculty and staff for leadership roles across campus. The program is led by Rod Bagley, professor and chair of veterinary clinical services; and Katharine Hensley, faculty professional development coordinator in the office of the senior vice president and provost.

Applications for the 2019-20 ELA cohort will be available in the spring.