Members selected for sixth Emerging Leaders Academy

Thirty faculty and staff have been chosen to participate in the 2016-17 edition of the Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA). ELA is an academic year initiative to develop faculty and P&S staff currently serving in leadership roles at Iowa State, or who aspire to hold leadership positions.

Participants attend monthly sessions on leadership theory and practice, current issues in higher education, and university-related challenges and opportunities. Each participant also benefits from a year-long mentoring relationship with a current Iowa State leader.

Members of the 2016-17 cohort are:

  • Carmen Bain, sociology
  • Jessica Bell, natural resource ecology and management
  • Barbara Biederman, office of university counsel
  • Michael Broders, information technology services
  • Sarah Cady, chemistry
  • Cameron Campbell, College of Design administration
  • Scott Dahl, alumni association
  • Tim Day, biomedical sciences
  • Heather Dean, University Book Store
  • Pol Herrmann, marketing and management
  • Erin Hodgson, entomology
  • Douglas Hoenig, Ames Laboratory
  • Tricia Janes, Small Business Development Center
  • Kristen Johansen, biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology
  • Brad Kerr, College of Veterinary Medicine administration
  • Asrun Kristmundsdottir, office of the vice president for research
  • Jeff Kushkowski, university library
  • Tera Lawson, School of Education
  • Young-A Lee, apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Sarah Merrill, new student programs
  • Ann Oberhauser, sociology
  • Teresa Paschke, art and visual culture
  • Nicci Port, College of Human Sciences administration
  • Hridesh Rajan, computer science
  • Joseph Rayzor, office of risk management
  • Don Simonson, music and theatre
  • Kipp Van Dyke, dean of students office
  • Max Viatori, anthropology
  • Kathy Wieland, College of Business administration
  • Matthew Sivils, English

The provost’s office established the ELA program in 2009 to help prepare a broader and more diverse group of faculty and staff for leadership roles across campus. The 2016-17 ELA class is the program’s sixth.