Honors and awards

Wintersteen honored by ag society

Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Wendy Wintersteen has received the Distinguished Service to Iowa Agriculture Award from the Iowa chapter of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. Wintersteen was recognized for leading the growth of undergraduate education at ISU, serving the state as an extension specialist and being a "champion" for students, faculty and staff in the college and for the state's agricultural industry. Wintersteen will donate the $250 cash award to the college's Floyd Andre Scholarship for Excellence in Industry.

Business College collects elite award

The College of Business is among only 30 schools in the world to receive the Innovations That Inspire Award. The award, from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, recognizes the college's global efforts, such as associate professor Scott Grawe's unique way of explaining the international supply chain. He and 27 students followed the supply chain backwards, physically tracing a spatula in an Ames Target store to the shipping docks in Lost Angeles, then back to the factory in China, where it was produced.

Martin wins Fulbright Scholar Grant to India

Chris Martin, associate professor of art and visual culture, has been named a Fulbright Scholar for 2016-2017 to study traditional craft forms in India and develop collaborative relationships with Indian artisans. The Core Fulbright Global Scholar Program sends 1,200 U.S. faculty and professionals to more than 125 countries each year to teach and conduct research in a wide variety of fields. The program awards 52 grants annually for faculty research in India. Martin will spend five months in Ahmedabad, the largest city and former capital of Gujarat, India, from August through December. 

Low wins environmental history prize

An article written by associate professor of history Michael Christopher Low recently won the 2016 Alice Hamilton Prize, from the American Society for Environmental History. Low's article "Ottoman Infrastructures of the Saudi Hydro-State: The Technopolitics of Pilgrimage and Potable Water in the Hijaz," was published in Comparative Studies in Society and History in October 2015.

Welch elected to board of directors

Corey Welch, program manager of STEM Scholars in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, was elected to the board of directors of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science. The society is dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Chicano and Native American scientists to attain advanced degrees, careers and leadership positions.

Simpkins receives award from The Geological Society of America

Bill Simpkins, chair of the department of geological and atmospheric sciences, was honored with The Geological Society of America, Hydrogeology Division’s George Bruke Maxey Distinguished Service Award.The award was presented in November 2015 at the Annual Meeting of the Society in Baltimore, Maryland.

Canfield elected to officer post

Distinguished Professor of physics Paul Canfield was elected to serve in an executive role for the American Physical Society. Canfield was elected vice chair for the division of condensed matter physics, effective in March.

Kawaler named to AAAS section committee

Professor of astronomy Steve Kawaler was elected a delegate to the American Association for the Advancement of Science's astronomy section steering group. He will serve a four-year term and represent astronomy members at the association's annual meeting. Kawaler was named a AAAS fellow in 2005.

Lu named institute fellow

Ping Lu, professor of aerospace engineering, was named a 2016 fellow by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. One in 1,000 AIAA members receives the distinction each year.

Phillips named rising start in psychology

Associate professor of psychology Alison Phillips was selected a "Rising Star" in the Association for Psychological Science, awarded to "the best and the brightest" in the field. Phillips was recognized for her early accomplishments in high-quality published works, significant achievements in research and the impact of her work on the broader community.

Schmidt is Clinton lecturer

The University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service selected Steffen Schmidt, University Professor of political science, to speak as a William J. Clinton Distinguished Lecturer on Wednesday, Jan. 27, in a focus on the Iowa Caucuses. 

Anderson named to National Academy of Inventors

U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory senior metallurgist Iver Anderson has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The NAI Fellows Selection Committee credited Anderson for demonstrating a “highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.” 

Jiles to serve as Jefferson Science Fellow

David Jiles, Palmer Endowed Chair of the department of electrical and computer engineering, has been selected as a Jefferson Science Fellow as a scientific adviser to the Department of State. The Jefferson Science Fellowship program is administered by the United States National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, and is supported through a partnership between the U.S. academic community, professional scientific societies, the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID).

Professors named IEEE fellows

Three faculty members from the electrical and computer engineering department were elected fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for 2016. Degang Chen, Jerry R. Junkins Chair; Diane Rover, University Professor; and Zhengdao Wang, professor, were honored.

Chen was elected for contributions to high speed VLSI testing. Rover was elected for her contributions to active learning methods in engineering education. Wang was elected for his contributions to the field of wireless communication. 

McCormick named association president

Dean McCormick, director of design and construction services in facilities planning and management, has been appointed president of the Construction Owners Association of America for 2016 and 2017. He has served as the association's vice president since 2014. The association's members include public (universities, K-12 school systems, state and local governments, health care organizations) and private owners who buy design and construction services.

Retallick named national teacher mentor

Mike Retallick, associate professor in agricultural education and studies, is one of six individuals nationwide to receive the National Association of Agricultural Educators' Teacher Mentor Award. Retallick is a scholar of experiential learning. He has been recognized nationally for his theoretical work in the field, but is well known for his practical applications for classroom teachers.

← View Archive