Honors and awards

August 2014

Gordon wins American Chemical Society Award

Mark Gordon, the Francis M. Craig Chair in Chemistry and is a Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been honored with the 2015 American Chemical Society (ACS) Award in Theoretical Chemistry. The award recognizes innovative research in theoretical chemistry that either advances theoretical methodology or contributes to new discoveries about chemical systems. He and the other ACS award recipients will be honored at a ceremony on March 24, 2015, in conjunction with the 249th ACS national meeting in Denver.

Thiel receives chemistry research award

Pat Thiel, Iowa State University Distinguished Professor of chemistry and a faculty scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, is the 2014 winner of the AVS Medard W. Welch Award for her research in the field of surface chemistry.