Top Hat representative on campus next week

A representative from Top Hat, ISU’s new interactive teaching and learning platform, will visit campus the week of Aug. 1. Erin Neal will be available for two walk-in sessions for instructors who want an overview of Top Hat’s features:

  • Wednesday, Aug. 3 (2-3 p.m., 116 Durham)
  • Thursday, Aug. 4 (12:30-1:30 p.m., 116 Durham)

Neal also will host individual sessions for instructors who want more in-depth training; sign up for a time here. Online support is always available at

Access Reiman Gardens via Beach Avenue

Construction work on the green space south of Jack Trice Stadium has closed Reiman Gardens access at the intersection of University Boulevard and South 16th Street. The closure of Mortenson Road at University Boulevard further complicates the logistics. Instead, visitors are reminded to use the gardens driveway on Beach Avenue (near Greenbriar Circle). Barring delays, the University Boulevard entrance should reopen on Aug. 15. Updates are available on the Reiman Gardens website.

Bessey north entrance closed through Aug. 8

The north lobby entrance to Bessey Hall will be closed from July 25 to Aug. 8 for utility installations on the Bessey Hall addition. Access to Bessey Hall will remain available through the northwest, west and south entrances.

Rent art at Aug. 2-3 open house

The Memorial Union will host its annual art lending open house Aug. 2-3 (10 a.m.-3 p.m. Tuesday and 10 a.m.-noon Wednesday) in the browsing library on the first floor. The collection includes nearly 175 framed posters, prints and paintings, including new pieces for 2016. Art may be rented for a half or full year and be used in an office or home. Patrons may take selections from the art-for-rent collection with them that day. Rentals typically range from $10 to $25 per year. Proceeds from rentals support MU art programs. 

Volunteers needed for state fair exhibit

University Marketing has six volunteer shifts remaining at its Iowa State Fair exhibit, Aug. 11-21. Volunteers receive a T-shirt, full day fair admission and fair parking. Call or email Maggie Feldmann in university marketing, 294-3969, to learn more about available shifts.

Gifts to ISU Foundation will honor George Jackson

George Jackson, former vice president for minority student affairs and assistant dean of the Graduate College who retired from Iowa State in 2009, died July 3 in Coral Springs, Florida. He was 75. A memorial service for Jackson was held July 12. His family has established a memorial fund at the ISU Foundation to honor him.

Reserve fall course materials at library now

Instructors who wish to place required materials on reserve at Parks Library for fall semester should submit requests now. Forms are available on the library's course reserve information page.

← View Archive