Honors and awards

October 2018

Bosselman receives lifetime honor

Robert Bosselman, professor in apparel, events and hospitality management, was presented the Heidi Sung Four-Year ​University Achievement Award by the International Society of Travel and Tourism Educators. The award recognizes an individual who has made significant lifetime contributions to the field of travel and tourism at four-year educational institutions granting a bachelor’s degree or higher. The award is given once every three years.

Architecture duo receive research incentive award

Shelby Doyle and Nick Senske, assistant professors of architecture, received the 2018 Research Incentive Award from the Architectural Research Centers Consortium. They were recognized for their proposal, "Polycasting: Multi-Material 3D Printed Formwork for Reinforced Concrete."

Ag Ed Studies faculty, staff honored at conference

Several faculty and staff in ISU's agricultural aducation and studies department received awards at the North Central Conference of the American Association for Aricultural Education. Honorees were: assistant professor Scott Smalley (Outstanding Early Career Member Award, and Distinguished Research Poster Awards); assistant professor Mark Hainline (Distinguished Research Poster Award, and Distinguished Innovative Idea Poster Award); program coordinator Beth Foreman (Distinguished Innovative Idea Poster Award); and communications specialist Breanna Wetzler (Distinguished Innovative Idea Poster Award).

Francis appointed to national advisory board

Sarah Francis, associate professor of food science and human nutrition, has been appointed to serve on the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education and Economics Advisory Board. Each board member represents a specific category of U.S. agricultural stakeholders. Francis will represent the National Nutritional Science Society during her three-year term on the 25-member board.

Hu receives young investigator award

Chao Hu, assistant professor in mechanical engineering, is a 2018 recipient of the Design Automation Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). The award recognizes an outstanding young investigator who is making noteworthy contributions in the area of design automation, including research in design representation, design optimization, design evaluation, and/or design integration.

Mitchell receives science education award

Ginny Mitchell, program assistant in the entomology department who coordinates the Insect Zoo's education program, received the Friend of Science Education Award from the Iowa Academy of Science. The award recognizes significant contributions to the academy's Iowa Science Teaching Section and to science education at the local, regional or state level.

Acker receives inspiration award

David Acker, professor of agricultural education and associate dean for academic and global programs in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, received the inaugural Inspiring the Next Generation award from the World Food Prize. The award was created to honor teachers who are critical to the success of the World Food Prize's youth education programs. Since their inception 20 years ago, Acker has provided educational leadership through the Iowa Youth Institute, the Global Youth Institute and the Borlaug-Ruan International Internship.

McCarroll receives PR award

John McCarroll, executive director of university relations, received the Outstanding Public Relations Professional award from the Central Iowa chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. It is the chapter's highest award.

Holme named next editor-in-chief of national journal

Thomas Holme, professor of chemistry, has been named the next editor-in-chief of the Journal of Chemical Education by the American Chemical Society. Holme initially will serve in conjunction with the current editor-in-chief, with the formal transition taking place in January 2020. Holme served as a feature editor of the journal (2003-09) and has been on the editorial team for several ACS symposium series books covering chemical education topics. He is an ACS fellow and served as director of the ACS Examinations Institute from 2002 to 2013. 

Reecy named to research fellows group

James Reecy, associate vice president for research, has been named a research leader fellow by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities' Council on Research. Reecy is one of seven members of the council's second cohort of fellows. The fellowship helps senior research officers expand their knowledge and skills beyond their current responsibilities.