Honors and awards

May 2016

Chamberlin named Fulbright Scholar

Dennis Chamberlin, associate professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, was named a Fulbright Scholar and will teach at Ukrainian Catholic University in 2016-17 to help establish the school's master's program in documentary photography.

Advisers' presentation best in region

Academic advisers Kyle Holtman and Lisa Phillips (kinesiology) and Amber Kargol (food science and human nutrition) were voted “Best in Region” at the recent Region 6 Conference for the National Academic Advising Association for their presentation “Using Habit Theory to Influence Student Behavior.”  They will repeat their presentation at the annual NACADA Conference in October in Atlanta.

Bair named state star

Ted Bair, regional director of the ISU Small Business Development Center in Ames, has been named the 2016 Iowa "State Star" by America’s SBDC, the national organization of small business development centers. The annual award recognizes SBDC personnel for exemplary work performance, significantl contributions to the organization’s economic development efforts and a strong commitment to small businesses.

Wang named society fellow

Tong Wang, professor of food science and human nutrition, has been named a fellow by the American Oil Chemists Society. Wang is recognized for her outstanding contributions to the field of basic research in lipid chemistry, and extraction and novel applications.

Learning community champions honored

ISU's Learning Communities program honored individuals for their extraordinary contributions to learning communities during the 18th annual LC institute on May 9. Award recipients this year were: 

  • Lora Leigh Chrystal, PWiSE; Corly Brooke Learning Community Advocate Award
  • (co-recipients) Bridging Opportunities in Leadership and Diversity, and Preparing Tomorrow's Teachers learning communities, Outstanding Innovations Award
  • (co-recipients) Karen Scheel, psychology, and Howard Tyler, animal science; Learning Community Champion Award
  • Allie Parrott, PWiSE; Learning Community Collaborator Award

Provost's office announces exemplary faculty mentors

In the third year of the program, the office of the senior vice president and provost has announced the recipients of the Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award. The award recognizes faculty who mentor new faculty and go above and beyond the formal expectations of the mentoring program. The 2015-16 recipients are: Sean Grass, professor of English; Chad Hart, professor of economics; Hui Hu, professor of aerospace engineering; Sergio Lence, professor and Martin Cole Chair of International Agricultural Economics; Jay Newell, associate professor of journalism and communication; Robert Reason, professor, School of Education; Steve Rodermel, Distinguished Professor of genetics, development and cell biology; Yoshinori Suzuki, professor of supply chain and information systems; and Ann Marie Van Der Zanden, professor of horticulture.

Burt named Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow

Brian Burt, assistant professor in the School of Education, received a 2016 Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship from the National Academy of Education. The fellowship supports early-career scholars working in critical areas of education research.

Flint earns DOE early career award

Rebecca Flint, assistant professor of physics and associate in the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory, was awarded the DOE’s Early Career Research Program award. Flint is one of only 44 scientists across the nation to receive the award. Flint, a condensed matter theorist, will receive $750,000 over a five-year period for her work on “Exotic Kondo Phases: the non-Kramers Doniach phase diagram.”