Honoring years of diligent work

(l-r) John Lawrence, Denise Schwab and Wendy Wintersteen

Photos by Christopher Gannon.

About 60 faculty and staff members received university awards during the annual ceremony Sept. 21 in the Memorial Union Great Hall. Here are just three of them.

(Top) Denise Schwab, Extension agriculture education specialist at the Iowa Beef Center, received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension or Professional Practice, which recognizes outstanding performance in statewide leadership in extension or professional practice and national recognition for outreach activities. Making the presentation were vice president for extension and outreach John Lawrence and President Wendy Wintersteen.

(Below) Ratnesh Kumar, Palmer Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering, received an Outstanding Achievement in Research award from associate vice president for research Surya Mallapragada and Wintersteen. The award recognizes a tenured faculty member who has earned a national or international reputation for contributions in research or creative activity.

(Bottom) Michael Wigton, associate teaching professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, received an Academic Advising Impact award, which recognizes outstanding performance by an academic advisor over an extended period. Presenting his award were Wintersteen and senior vice president for student affairs Toyia Younger.


Surya Mallapragada, Ratnesh Kumar and Wendy Wintersteen


(l-r) Toyia Younger, Michael Wigton and Wendy Wintersteen