Leadership program has new directors, updated programming

Twenty-four faculty and staff are participating in the 2017-18 cohort of Iowa State's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA).

ELA is an academic-year initiative to better prepare a diverse group of faculty and professional and scientific staff currently serving in leadership roles or who aspire to hold leadership positions. Participants attend monthly sessions on topics in leadership theory and practice, communication, formal presentation, understanding environment and culture, budgeting and resource management, performance management and ethical leadership. The 2017-18 ELA class is the program's seventh.

New program leaders

Dr. Rod Bagley, professor and chair of veterinary clinical sciences, is the program's new faculty director. Bagley teaches communication, career development and ethics in the veterinary professional curriculum and has led development programs on the subjects of communication, professional leadership/management and performance management. He takes over the ELA curriculum responsibility from John Schuh, who led the program for four years and retired last spring.

Katharine Hensley, faculty professional development coordinator in the office of the senior vice president and provost, will co-direct the program, with a focus on representing the perspective of P&S staff.

"Helping to accompany these current and future university leaders on their leadership journey is both a great opportunity and a great responsibility," Bagley said. "Ultimately, we want to help create opinion leaders who have broad knowledge of Iowa State's mission, vision and operations, and who are prepared to fulfill their leadership roles effectively and positively impact the future of the university."

Team service projects added

ELA sessions are held at locations around campus to foster a deeper understanding of the university and its mission. For the first time, as part of their capstone experience, class members will complete service projects for the university community that must align with the university's strategic plan and Principles of Community. Projects will be completed by May 2018.

Applications for the 2018-19 ELA program will be available in the spring.


Members of the 2017-18 ELA cohort are:

  • Lorenzo Baber, School of Education
  • Billy Boulden, dean of students office
  • Susan Bradbury, community and regional planning
  • Eric Burrough, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • Simon Cordery, history
  • Jake Cummings, equal opportunity office
  • Kristie Franz, geological and atmospheric sciences
  • Nancy Gebhart, university museums
  • Nathan Hannover, information technology
  • Audrey Kennis, College of Design student support services
  • Stacy Kilstofte, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences administration
  • Lindsey Long, athletics
  • Peter Martin, human development and family studies
  • Cathy Miller, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Melissa Miller, office of the vice president for research
  • John Nason, ecology, evolution and organismal biology
  • Dan Nutini, facilities planning and management
  • Angela Powers, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
  • Jacquelyn Rees Ulmer, supply chain and information systems
  • Stacy Renfro, Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Evidence
  • Cris Schwartz, mechanical engineering
  • Laurie Smith Law, Honors program
  • Javier Vela, chemistry
  • Sean Whalen, Ames Laboratory