Distinguished Awards Celebration is April 17

The ISU Alumni Association and the ISU Foundation will honor 10 individuals and one company with the university's highest awards during the annual Distinguished Awards Celebration on April 17 (1:30 p.m., Great Hall, Memorial Union). All are invited to attend.

Awards are given each spring to alumni and friends of Iowa State. The 2015 award recipients are listed below. Full biographies of the honorees are online.

Alumni association awards

Distinguished Alumni Award
The Distinguished Alumni Award, established in 1961, is the highest honor given to alumni by Iowa State through the ISU Alumni Association. This award honors ISU alumni who are nationally and/or internationally recognized for preeminent contributions to their professions or life's work.

  • Theodore Crosbie (B.S. 1973, M.S. 1976, Ph.D. 1978), retired vice president and executive leader of Monsanto Integrated Farming Systems, current consultant and special adviser to Monsanto, and chief technology officer for the state of Iowa. Crosbie resides in Earlham.
  • Richard Jurgens (B.S. 1971), retired chairman and CEO of Hy-Vee. Jurgens lives in West Des Moines.
  • Thomas (B.S. 1968, M.S. 1971) and Evonne (B.S. 1968) Smith, founders of Seismic Micro Technology and Geophysical Insights, seismic software development companies. The Smiths reside in Austin, Texas.

Honorary Alumni Award
The Honorary Alumni Award, established in 1968, is the highest honor given by Iowa State through the ISU Alumni Association to individuals who are not Iowa State graduates and who have made significant contributions to the university's welfare, reputation, prestige and pursuit of excellence.

  • J. Elaine Hieber, former senior woman administrator in the ISU athletics department and a member of the ISU Athletics Hall of Fame. She also was instrumental in bringing the Special Olympics Iowa Summer Games to Ames. Hieber lives in Ames.
  • Martha Robes, funded more than 1,100 scholarships from the Fred Foreman Scholarship for Growth in Leadership Participation, the Dean’s Study Abroad Scholarship and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Dean’s Leadership Scholars. She also established an endowed professorship in the department of animal science and a marketing and recruitment director position in the college. Robes resides in St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands.

Foundation awards

Order of the Knoll Corporation and Foundation Award
Presented to a corporation, foundation or association that has demonstrated generosity to Iowa State through significant leadership giving, dedicated and long-term service, and assistance to students and faculty through recruitment opportunities and research programs.

  • The Boeing Company, Chicago, provided scholarships to engineering and business students, connected students to experiential learning opportunities, supported the university’s growth through capital projects and advised faculty and staff on curriculum development and a variety of special projects. Boeing representatives serve on numerous councils at Iowa State within the engineering, business and design colleges.

Order of the Knoll Cardinal and Gold Award
Recognizes individuals or couples who have provided dedicated and long-term service and creative leadership to the ISU Foundation and Iowa State through the advancement of philanthropy. This award recognizes those whose lasting involvement with the university and the foundation has made a substantial impact in promoting and expanding philanthropy that supports Iowa State.

  • Ellen Molleston Walvoord (B.S. 1961), established the Walvoord Professorship in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in 2011. She also has supported the department of music and theatre and the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. Walvoord lives in Lake Forest, Illinois.

Order of the Knoll Campanile Award
Recognizes the extraordinary, longtime support of an individual or couple who has had a significant and inspiring impact on Iowa State. This award honors those who have provided long-term substantial and loyal philanthropic support that has transformed the university. This is the most prestigious award presented by the ISU Foundation on behalf of the university.

  • Deloris Wright (Ph.D. 1973), funded music and biology programs, Parks Library, the colleges of Engineering and Veterinary Medicine, and the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics. Other areas of support include the Skunk River Navy and the Companion Animal Fund. Wright resides in Golden, Colorado.

Order of the Knoll Faculty and Staff Award
Recognizes an individual or couple currently employed by or retired from Iowa State who has/have provided dedicated and long-term professional and volunteer service and creative leadership to the ISU Foundation and Iowa State through the advancement of philanthropy. This award honors those whose involvement with the university and the foundation has been lasting and made a substantial impact in promoting and expanding philanthropy that supports Iowa State.

  • Maynard Hogberg (B.S. 1966, M.S. 1972, Ph.D. 1976), Professor Emeritus and past chair of the animal science department, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. During his time as chair, undergraduate enrollment in animal science doubled, seven endowed positions were created and a strong group of faculty was recruited. Hogberg lives in Ames.
  • Thomas McGee (B.S. 1948, M.S. 1958, Ph.D. 1961), Professor Emeritus of materials science and engineering. McGee is internationally recognized as an expert in temperature measurement, refectories, glass science and technology, biomaterials and design with brittle materials. He invented an artificial bone and has nine granted or pending patents for surgical applications. McGee resides in Ames.