P&S staff receive 2022 CYtation Awards

Forty-four employees received the Professional & Scientific (P&S) Council CYtation Award for their outstanding work and contributions in 2022. The 16 individuals and three teams from across the university were honored at a breakfast ceremony March 23 at the ISU Alumni Center.

The CYtation awards recognize P&S employees, particularly those who might not otherwise receive public recognition, who go above and beyond the call of duty, do something extraordinarily well, and act in such a way as to make a real difference in the institution. More information about the recipients is on the council's website.

Council president Jamie Sass, president-elect Patrick Wall and past president Chris Johnsen presented the awards. Jackie Woodin introduced the Woodin CYtation Award, created in memory of her husband and former council member Dan Woodin, to recognize a career of dedication and service to Iowa State. Recipients receive a framed certificate and a gift donated by one of the council's ISU partners: ISU Athletics, ISU Book Store or Reiman Gardens.

CYtation award nominations open in October. Individual awards recognize an achievement within the last two years, and team nominations recognize achievement within the last year.


Professional and Scientific Council Woodin CYtation Award recipient

  • Amy Lewman, administrative assistant, ecology, evolution and organismal biology


Professional and Scientific Council CYtation Award recipients

  • Karen Bramow, project manager, office of the vice president for research
  • Cris Broshar, child Care & family services coordinator, university human resources
  • Anindita Das, diversity, equity and inclusion strategist, College of Design
  • Alexa Groff, 4-H Youth STEM program specialist, 4-H youth development
  • Brad Hill, associate director for operations, Memorial Union
  • Samantha Hirschman, graduate student services specialist, Graduate College
  • Claire Kruesel, student services specialist, biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology
  • Liz Luiken, assistant director, dean of students office -- office of student conduct
  • Gene Manhattan, international student advisor, international students and scholars office
  • Ashley Morton, academic advisor, Engineering student services
  • Cindy Osborne, manager, custodial services, recreation services
  • Sadi Reimann, administrative assistant, School of Education
  • Johna Wolfe, student services specialist/classification coordinator, LAS student services
  • Svitlana Zbarska, campus-wide undergraduate research program coordinator, Honors program


Outstanding New Professional and Scientific Council Member CYtation Award recipient

  • Anindita Das, diversity, equity and inclusion strategist, College of Design


Professional and Scientific Council CYtation Team Award recipients

  • CIRAS Salesforce implementation team: Leah Barton, Tina Colburn, Jodi Essex, Jennifer Garcia-Velazquez, Chris Hill, Gayle Mastbergen, Jennifer Meseke, Tracy Schuster and Chris Thach
  • Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship team: Alex Andrade, Sam Dilocker, Judi Eyles, Megan Graettinger, Peter Hong, Hannah Kirkendall, Ashley Sawyer, Tom Swartwood and Jean Walsh
  • Strategic facilities planning team: Katie Baumgarn, Suzanne Fisher, Corinne Goode, Brandi Latterell, Sarah Lawrence, Alesha Magee, Kelly Nelson, Elizabeth Salton, Chris Strawhacker and Linda Tibbs