Search launches for vice president for extension and outreach

Senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert has launched the search for Iowa State's next vice president for ISU Extension and Outreach. The search process will begin with the nomination of high-quality candidates to develop a strong and diverse candidate pool. Semifinalist and finalist interviews will be held during the fall semester.

Last month, vice president for extension and outreach John Lawrence announced his intent to retire in spring 2023.

Laura Jolly, dean of the College of Human Sciences; and Daniel Robison, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, will co-chair the search. Members of the search committee are:

  • Tennie Carlson, Iowa State Fair board
  • Shannon Coleman, food science and human nutrition
  • Rich Degner, county extension council, Polk County
  • Patrick Hatting, agriculture and natural resources, extension and outreach
  • Carol Heaverlo, administration, extension and outreach
  • Lindsay Henderson, community and economic development, extension and outreach
  • Himar Hernandez, community and economic development, extension and outreach
  • Erin Hodgson, entomology
  • Chris Johnsen, extension store and distribution center
  • Brent Johnson, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
  • Amy Kaleita, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Lori Korthals, human sciences extension
  • Bill Menner, Iowa Rural Development Council
  • Ajay Nair, horticulture
  • Carter Oliver, Harrison County, extension and outreach
  • Donovan Olson, Story County, extension and outreach
  • Cayla Taylor, 4-H youth development, extension and outreach

The Buffkin/Baker executive search firm, Nashville, will assist the committee, and Julie Palmer from Wickert's office will provide staff support. Additional information about the search is available on the provost's office website.